Loyola 2013 Schedule Includes Seven NCAA Tourney Teams

BALTIMORE - Loyola head coach Jen Adams has announced the 2013 women's lacrosse schedule. The Greyhounds, coming off their second-straight Big East Championships, will host nine games at Ridley Athletic Complex and face seven teams that advanced to the 2012 NCAA Tournament, including two final four participants.

Loyola will open the season will three-straight home games, beginning with Virginia, a program that has advanced to the NCAA Championships each of the past 17 years, on Saturday, Feb. 16. The Greyhounds will then host Penn State, a quarterfinalist in last year's national tournament, on Saturday, Feb. 23, and Charles Street-rival Johns Hopkins on Wednesday, Feb. 27.

Towson, another 2012 NCAA Tournament participant, is up next for the Greyhounds, as they will begin a three-game road swing with their local rivals on Saturday, March 2. Spring break will be spent at Florida, where the Greyhounds will challenge the ALC Champions and NCAA semifinalists for the first time in program history. That game is scheduled for Tuesday, March 5,with the road trip concluding on Wednesday, March 13 at Delaware.

Loyola will play four of its next five games at RidleyAthletic Complex, with James Madison closing out the Greyhounds' regular-season non-conference home schedule on Saturday, March 16.

Louisville will be Loyola's Big East opener, with the squads meeting on Friday, March 22 in Baltimore. The Greyhounds will also host Cincinnati that weekend, taking on the Bearcats on Sunday, March 24.

A game at UMBC is slated for Wednesday, April 6, before Georgetown comes to Loyola on Saturday, April 6.

The Greyhounds will spend their next two weekends on the road for four-straight games. Loyola will begin the trip at Notre Dame, a 2012 NCAA participant, on Friday, April 12, before traveling to Marquette, a first-year NCAA Division I program, for a game on Sunday, April 14.

Loyola will also play at Villanova on Friday, April 19 and at Rutgers on Sunday, April 21, before returning home to close out the regular season with NCAA runner-up Syracuse and Connecticut on Friday, April 26 andSunday, April 28, respectively.

The 2013 Big East Championships will return to Georgetown, the site of the 2011 tournament where the Greyhounds won their first-ever conference title. This year's conference championship will be held Thursday, May 2 and Saturday, May 4 at the Soccer and Lacrosse Complex.

The NCAA Championships will feature a 26-team field this year, with first and second round games being played at campus sites. The quarterfinal round will be hosted by the higher seed with the semifinals and finals set for Friday, May 24 and Sunday, May 26 at Villanova University.

Loyola's schedule is subject to change and times will be released at a later date.

Day         Date        Opponent                Location
Tues. Feb. 16 Virginia Ridley Athletic Complex
Sat. Feb. 23 Penn State Ridley Athletic Complex
Wed. Feb. 27 Johns Hopkins Ridley Athletic Complex

Sat. March 2 at Towson Towson, Md.
Tues. March 5 at Florida Gainesville, Md.
Wed. March 13 at Delaware Newark, Del.
Sat. March 16 James Madison Ridley Athletic Complex
Fri. March 22 Louisville Ridley Athletic Complex
Sun. March 24 Cincinnati Ridley Athletic Complex
Wed. March 27 at UMBC Catonsville, Md.

Sat. April 6 Georgetown* Ridley Athletic Complex
Fri. April 12 at Notre Dame* South Bend, Ind.
Sun. April 14 at Marquette Milwaukee, Wisc.
Fri. April 19 at Villanova* Villanova, Pa.
Sun. April 21 at Rutgers* New Brunswick, N.J.
Fri. April 26 Syracuse* Ridley Athletic Complex
Sun. April 28 Connecticut* Ridley Athletic Complex

Thurs. May 2 Big East Semifinals Washington, D.C.
Sat. May 4 Big East Championship Washington, D.C.

2012-11-01



Create a free lacrosse website