William & Mary Announces Schedule for 2013 Lacrosse Season

WILLIAMSBURG, Va. (Nov. 6, 2012)-William and Mary lacrosse head coach Brooke Ireland has announced the Tribe's schedule for the upcoming 2013 season. The challenging slate features 16 regular-season contests, seven of which will be played at Martin Family Stadium at Albert-Daly Field.

Highlighting the schedule are four games against teams that competed in the 2012 NCAA Tournament, including three opponents that finished last season ranked among the nation's top 10.

The Tribe will open its campaign at home against American on Feb. 13, marking the first time the teams have met since 2001. W&M has dominated the all-time series, winning all 11 previous meetings by an average margin of more than 11 goals per game.

W&M's first road game will come four days later when it plays at Duke (Feb. 17), which advanced to last season's NCAA quarterfinals and finished the year ranked sixth in the country. Another challenging contest is slated on Feb. 20, as the College will host Ohio State, which finished last year ranked 15th nationally.

An early-season conference game at Old Dominion on Feb. 26 will mark the first of four consecutive road match-ups for the Tribe. After squaring off against the Lady Monarchs, W&M will play at Stetson (March 2), at Jacksonville (March 8) and at Virginia (March 13). UVA earned an NCAA Tournament bid last spring and ended the season ranked eighth nationally.

The College will wrap up the non-conference portion of its slate with home games against Maryland (March 20) and Richmond (March 23) and a road trip to Longwood (March 30). Maryland advanced to last year's NCAA semifinals and ranked fourth nationally in the season's final poll.

Conference play will resume with home games versus Drexel (April 5) and Hofstra (April 7) before road trips to Towson (April 12) and Delaware (April 14) the following weekend. The regular season will wrap up with a home game against James Madison (April 19) and a road trip to George Mason (April 21).

The Tribe will look to qualify for its fifth CAA Championship in the last six seasons when the league's top four teams compete for the title on May 3 and 5. The conference's regular-season champion will host the event.

Day & Date    Opponent            Location                  Time (ET)
Wed, Feb 13 American Williamsburg, Va. 4:00 p.m.
Sun, Feb 17 at Duke at Durham, N.C. 3:00 p.m.
Wed, Feb 20 Ohio State Williamsburg, Va. 3:00 p.m.
Tue, Feb 26 at Old Dominion * at Norfolk, Va. 7:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 02 at Stetson at DeLand, Fla. 10:00 a.m.
Fri, Mar 08 at Jacksonville at Jacksonville, Fla. 3:30 p.m.
Wed, Mar 13 at Virginia at Charlottesville, Va. 7:00 p.m.
Wed, Mar 20 Maryland Williamsburg, Va. 4:00 p.m.
Sat, Mar 23 Richmond Williamsburg, Va. 1:00 p.m.
Sat, Mar 30 at Longwood at Farmville, Va. 1:00 p.m.

Fri, Apr 05 Drexel * Williamsburg, Va. 7:00 p.m.
Sun, Apr 07 Hofstra * Williamsburg, Va. 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Apr 12 at Towson * at Towson, Md. 7:00 p.m.
Sun, Apr 14 at Delaware * at Newark, Del. 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Apr 19 James Madison * Williamsburg, Va. 4:00 p.m.
Sun, Apr 21 at George Mason * at Fairfax, Va. 1:00 p.m.

Fri, May 03 CAA Semifinals at No. 1 seed
Sun, May 05 CAA Championship at No. 1 seed

* Conference games

2012-11-06



Create a free lacrosse website