US Lacrosse Names 25 to the U.S. National Training Team

BALTIMORE, Dec. 4, 2012 US Lacrosse today announced the 25-player U.S. Women's National Training Team roster. The team was selected from the standing 38-player roster comprising the 2012-14 U.S. Women's National Team, and these 25 players will train with Team USA in preparation for the July 2013 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Cup in Oshawa, Ontario.

These 25 players will represent Team USA at the Sunday, Jan. 27 exhibition against defending NCAA champion Northwestern at Champion Challenge, a US Lacrosse event. Team USA will square off against the Wildcats at 11:00 a.m. EST on Jan. 27 at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Team USA will also take on national champion runner-up Syracuse on Saturday, Jan. 26.

The reigning world champion U.S. women's national team, which defeated Australia to win the 2009 World Cup, will announce a final 18-player roster for the 2013 World Cup in early February.

The Team USA roster for Champion Challenge, listed by position with collegiate affiliation and previous U.S. team experience noted:

Katrina Dowd, Northwestern
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University
Lindsey Munday, Northwestern*
Katie Rowan, Syracuse*
Shannon Smith, Northwestern^
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse

Sarah Albrecht, Northwestern*
Kelly Berger, James Madison
Sarah Bullard, Duke*^
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt^
Brittany Dashiell, Florida
Kristin Igoe, Boston College
Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland*
Kelly McPartland, Maryland#
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
Laura Zimmerman, North Carolina

Kristen Carr, North Carolina
Amber Falcone, North Carolina*
Katie Hertsch, Hofstra
Holly McGarvie Reilly, Princeton*
Gina Oliver, Ohio State*
Jennifer Russell, North Carolina

Liz Hogan, Syracuse
Megan Huether, Duke*
Devon Wills, Dartmouth*

* 2009 U.S. women's national team member
# 2011 U.S. women's national under-19 team member
^ 2007 U.S. women's national under-19 team member


Create a free lacrosse website