Lacrosse Mag. Releases Division II Preseason Rankings, POYs

BALTIMORE, Jan. 4, 2013 - The Dowling men and LIU Post (formerly C.W. Post) women claimed the No. 1 positions in Lacrosse Magazine's 2013 NCAA Division II preseason rankings, released today. Lacrosse Magazine also named Merrimack's Corey Lunney and West Chester's Tori Dugan as its preseason players of the year for Division II men and women, respectively.

The Golden Lions enter 2013 as defending national champions, having edged Limestone in the NCAA final, 11-10. Midfielder Louis Riley, who won 14 of 25 faceoffs in the championship game and 64.9 percent for the season, returns, as do attackmen Billy Richardson (16 goals, 19 assists) and Michael Brennen (27g, 5a). Mercyhurst, NCAA champion in 2011, is ranked second, while the 2012 runner-up Saints are ranked fourth.

Lunney, a senior midfielder, has led the Warriors to 37 wins and three Northeast-10 Conference championship games. He topped the NE-10 with 45 goals and ranked third with 59 points, output that earned him All-American and all-conference honors, along with a second straight New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Player of the Year award.

NCAA Division II Men
1. Dowling
2. Mercyhurst
3. Le Moyne
4. Limestone
5. Merrimack
7. Seton Hill
8. Adelphi
9. St. Michael's
10. Chestnut Hill

Preseason Player of the Year: Corey Lunney, Merrimack, Sr. M

* * * *

The No. 1 Pioneers edged West Chester, 17-16, to win the 2012 NCAA championship, thanks largely to reigning IWLCA Attacker of the Year Jackie Sileo, who scored an NCAA record nine points in the final and a record 17 points in the tournament as a sophomore. LIU Post also returns the 2012 IWLCA Goalkeeper of the Year in Dominque Mosca (173 saves). The runner-up Golden Rams enter the season ranked third, behind Adelphi.

Dugan, a senior attacker, was named the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Player of the Year in 2012. She finished seventh in the nation in points (94), 10th in assists (40), and fifth in draw controls (120), helping the Golden Rams to the berth in the NCAA championship game.

NCAA Division II Women
1. LIU Post
2. Adelphi
3. West Chester
4. Rollins
5. Le Moyne
6. Limestone
7. Stonehill
8. Lock Haven
9. Bentley
10. New Haven

Preseason Player of the Year: Tori Dugan, West Chester, Sr. A


Create a free lacrosse website