Va. Tech 2013 Lacrosse Schedule Features Four Tourney Teams

BLACKSBURG, Va. The Virginia Tech lacrosse team and head coach Megan Burker have released the 2013 schedule that features four teams that participated in the 2012 NCAA Tournament and five squads that finished the season ranking in the top 20.

Tech is coming off back-to-back 10-win seasons for the first time in program history. The Hokies finished 2012 with a 10-7 record, which was highlighted by the program's first ever win over a top-10 team when the squad defeated then-No. 7 Virginia 10-9 at home in overtime.

The 2013 season will kickoff on Friday, Feb. 8 at Duke. The game will be played at 5:00 p.m. and will mark the first time since joining the Atlantic Coast Conference in 2005 that Tech has started the year off with league play.

The Hokies will remain on the road to play at High Point a week later, on Friday, Feb. 15. Tech will play its first midweek contest of the year when it travels to Davidson, N.C., to take on the Wildcats on Wednesday Feb. 20. The Hokies will cap off the stretch of road games with a trip to Myrtle Beach, S.C., to play at Coastal Carolina on Saturday Feb. 23.

Tech opens home play on Wednesday, Feb. 27 when nearby James Madison comes to town for a 6:00 p.m. battle at Thompson Field. The Hokies will look to avenge the narrow road loss to the then-No.13 Dukes last year, after making it a one-goal game with less than five minutes to play but eventually falling 10-7.

Remaining at home, Tech will host Mount St. Mary's the following Saturday and continue conference play, welcoming Boston College on Saturday, March 9. The Hokies will look to keep their home winning streak over the Eagles alive, as they have topped BC in each of its last two trips to Blacksburg.

The Hokies will switch coasts during Spring Break, playing two games in California. The first stop will be UC Davis on Tuesday, March 12, and play will continue on Saturday, March 16 when Tech plays at California.

Headed back home after the break, the Hokies will host Old Dominion the following Saturday, and face North Carolina on Saturday, March 30, exactly one week later.

On Wednesday, April 3, Tech will travel to Liberty for a 4:00 p.m. game. The Hokies return to Thompson Field to host Longwood on Wednesday, April 10 and will wrap the week of play up on Saturday, April 13 when Delaware State comes to town.

Tech will look to defend its defeat of in-state rival Virginia when it heads to Charlottesville for a 7:00 p.m. game on Wednesday, April 20. The Hokies will close out the regular season hosting Maryland on Senior Day, Saturday, April 20 at Noon.

This year's ACC Tournament will be held in Chapel Hill, N.C., and be hosted by North Carolina. Play will begin on Thursday, April 25 and continue on Friday with the semifinals. The championship game will be held on Sunday at the same location.

Day & Date     Opponent              Time     Location
Fri., Feb 8 at Duke * 5 p.m. Durham, N.C.
Fri., Feb 15 at High Point 4 p.m. High Point, N.C.
Wed., Feb 20 at Davidson 6 p.m. Davidson, N.C.
Sat., Feb 23 at Coastal Carolina Noon Conway, S.C.
Wed., Feb 27 James Madison 6 p.m. Thompson Field
Sat., Mar 2 Mount St. Mary's 1 p.m. Thompson Field
Sat., Mar 9 Boston College * Noon Thompson Field
Tue., Mar 12 at UC Davis 7 p.m. Davis, Calif.
Sat., Mar 16 at California 5 p.m. Berkeley, Calif.
Sat., Mar 23 Old Dominion 1 p.m. Thompson Field
Sat., Mar 30 North Carolina * 2 p.m. Thompson Field
Wed., Apr 3 at Liberty 4 p.m. Lynchburg, Va.
Wed., Apr 10 Longwood 4 p.m. Thompson Field
Sat., Apr 13 Delaware State 1 p.m. Thompson Field
Wed., Apr 17 at Virginia * 7 p.m. Charlottesville, Va.
Sat., Apr 20 Maryland * Noon Thompson Field
Thu., Apr 25 ACC Tournament TBA Chapel Hill, N.C.
Thu., Apr 26 ACC Semifinals TBA Chapel Hill, N.C.
Thu., Apr 28 ACC Final TBA Chapel Hill, N.C.

2013-01-10



Create a free lacrosse website