Detroit Announces the Titans' Lacrosse Captains for 2013

DETROIT (1/16/2013) -- A team vote was conducted, and co-captains for 2013 were announced Monday, with seniors Zaynib Hamze and Megan Callahan serving in the leadership roles this season.

"I am pleased to announce Zaynib and Megan as team captains for our 2013 season. Both are major contributors to the overall success of the team," said second year UDM women's lacrosse head coach Laura Maness. "The team voted on captains and I think they picked two teammates who stand for everything we want our program to represent. Their hard work and ability to motivate those around them will be a recipe for success for our team."

Hamze is a midfielder who finished fifth on the team in scoring last season with 29 points. She was fourth on the team with 19 goals and tied for third on the team with 10 assists. She took 33 shots scoring on 58% of her shots. She was also second on the team with 35 ground balls and fourth grabbing 27 draw controls. She had just five games in 2012 where she did not register a goal and she ended the season with goals in each of the last six games. Hamze was selected to the Atlantic Sun All-Conference preseason team on Jan. 9.

Callahan is a defensive midfielder who started all 17 games for the Titans last year and has started all 55 games in her UDM career. She tallied a goal and an assist in 2012 but made her presence known on the defensive side of the ball and helping the team transition into the offensive zone. She finished with 15 draw controls, 10 ground balls, and nine shots. She is also currently serving as the President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

The leadership from Callahan and Hamze will be especially relied upon in 2013 as Hamze and Callahan are part of a team with seven total upperclassmen, four seniors, and eight freshmen on the roster.

The 2013 season will officially begin on Feb. 16 at Robert Morris in Moon Township, Pa. The first Atlantic Sun conference game will come on April 7 as UDM welcomes Howard to Titan Field. Detroit will be looking to earn the five-team conference's automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament which is awarded to the victor of the Atlantic Sun Championship April 26-28 in Jacksonville, Fla.


Create a free lacrosse website