Notre Dame the Favorite in Big East Lacrosse Preseason Poll

Georgetown was picked fifth in the preseason poll after the Hoyas finished 2012 with an overall record of 7-6 and a 3-3 mark in Big East play, winning its final two games of the regular season.

Rutgers and first-year head coach Brian Brecht finished the season with a 6-9 overall record, including a 1-5 mark in league action. The Scarlet Knights were chosen sixth in the preseason poll.

Providence, selected seventh by just one point in the preseason poll, ended the 2012 season on a high note, picking up its first Big East victory since joining the conference in 2010 with a win against then-No. 13/15 Villanova in the Friars' season finale. PC ended the year 2-12 with a 1-5 record in conference play.

The seven men's lacrosse members of the Big East participate in a six-game, single round-robin format, playing each opponent once each year.

The 2013 season will mark the second Big East Championship, held May 4 and 6 at Goodreau Field on the campus of Villanova. The top four teams in the conference standings, determined and seeded by winning percentage in conference play at the conclusion of the regular season, will advance to compete in the postseason.

Big East Preseason Coaches' Poll
                 Pts   2012 Overall Record
Notre Dame (5) 35 13-3, 6-0 Big East
Syracuse (2) 32 9-8, 3-3 Big East
St. John's 23 8-7, 3-3 Big East
Villanova 21 8-7, 4-2 Big East
Georgetown 19 7-6, 3-3 Big East
Rutgers 9 6-9, 1-5 Big East
Providence 8 2-12, 1-5 Big East

Big East Preseason Offensive Player of the Year
Kieran McArdle, St. John's, Jr., A

Big East Preseason Co-Defensive Players of the Year
John Kemp, Notre Dame, Sr., G
Brian Megill, Syracuse, Sr., D

All-Big East Preseason Team^
Brian Casey, Georgetown, A
Dan McKinney, Georgetown, M
Chris Nourse, Georgetown, D
Westy Hopkins, Notre Dame, A
*John Kemp, Notre Dame, Sr., GK
*Jim Marlatt, Notre Dame, M
*Matt Miller, Notre Dame, D
Sean Rogers, Notre Dame, A
*Dillon Ayers, St. John's, LSM
*Kieran McArdle, St. John's, A
*JoJo Marasco, Syracuse, M
*Brian Megill, Syracuse, D
*Thomas Croonquist, Villanova, SP
John LoCascio, Villanova, LSM
*Jack Rice, Villanova, A

^ Players added to the due to a tie in voting
* Unanimous selection

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website