2013 MPSF Women's Lacrosse Preseason Coaches' Poll

Stanford collected 59 points and four first-place votes in winning the 2013 Preseason MPSF Women's Lacrosse Coaches' Poll for the fourth consecutive year. The Cardinal, who won seven straight conference titles from 2005-11, return nine starters and 16 letterwinners from the 2012 runner-up team. The all-conference returnees includes goalkeeper Lyndsey Munoz, and midfielders Anna Kim, Hannah Farr, and Nina Swanson.

Last year's MPSF champion and NCAA play-in participant Oregon placed second in the poll with 55 points and three first-place votes. The Ducks return 18 players from last year's MPSF unbeaten team, including all-conference midfielders Nikki Puszcz and Shannon Propst, along with goalkeeper Caroline Federighi.

Denver finished third with 53 points and a pair of top votes. The Pioneers were an MPSF Semifinalist a year ago, and welcome back 10 starters, including Jenn Etzel, Kara Secora, and Kate Henrich. California totaled 47 points in taking fourth, returning MPSF Player of the Year Megan Takacs, back from a 53-goal season.

San Diego State had 33 points for the middle finish. The Aztecs managed five wins in last year's inaugural season, bringing back Meris Walsh and Madison Wallace from the all-conference teams. UC Davis took sixth with 28 points, returning Elizabeth Datino from an MPSF-High101-point year, along with MPSF Co-Newcomer of the Year Elizabeth Landry.

First-Year program USC placed seventh with 24 points, followed by Fresno State with 13 and St. Mary's with 12. Competing from that group include all-conference Gael midfielders Amanda Cross, Rachel Minarovich, and Holly Hayes, Bulldog attackers Natalie Harrington and Briana Hetherington, and first-year Trojans Caroline Cordrey and Caroline de Lyra.

The 2013 season begins on the second weekend of February. The University of Oregon serves as this year's MPSF Championship Tournament hosts during the first weekend of May.

Rank Team Pts (1st) 2012 Record/Conference Finish
1 Stanford 59 (4) 8-10 Overall; 5-2 MPSF #3 (MPSF Finals)
2 Oregon 55 (3) 14-5 Overall; 7-0 MPSF #1 (MPSF Champion)
3 Denver 53 (2) 12-3 Overall; 6-1 MPSF #2 (MPSF Semifinal)
4 California 47 8-8 Overall; 4-3 MPSF #4 (MPSF Semifinal)
5 San Diego State 33 5-10 Overall; 2-5 MPSF/#5T
6 UC Davis 28 6-10 Overall; 2-5 MPSF/#5T
7 USC 24 First Year of Program/NA
8 Fresno State 13 3-10 Overall; 1-6 MPSF/#7T
9 St. Mary's 12 3-12 Overall; 1-6 MPSF/#7T


Create a free lacrosse website