Lacrosse Magazine Division I Lacrosse Preseason Rankings

BALTIMORE, Jan. 31, 2013 The Loyola men and Florida women have claimed the No. 1 positions in Lacrosse Magazine's NCAA Division I preseason rankings for 2013.

The defending national champion Greyhounds are coming off an 18-1 season that included the ECAC Lacrosse League regular-season and tournament championships. Ranked No. 19 by Lacrosse Magazine entering 2012, Loyola suffered only a 10-9 defeat to rival Johns Hopkins and earned the No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament. The Greyhounds beat Canisius, Denver (for a third time), Notre Dame and Maryland to win the program's first NCAA championship. Attackman Mike Sawyer (52 goals, 10 assists) leads a host of returnees for Loyola, which battled the U.S. men's national team in a 17-13 exhibition defeat Sunday at Champion Challenge, a US Lacrosse event. Maryland, which advanced to the NCAA final in 2011 and 2012, enters this season ranked No. 2.

NCAA Division I Men
1. Loyola
2. Maryland
3. Duke
4. Notre Dame
5. Johns Hopkins
6. Denver
7. Cornell
8. North Carolina
9. Virginia
10. Lehigh
11. Colgate
12. Syracuse
13. UMass
14. Penn State
15. Princeton
16. Yale
17. Villanova
18. Fairfield
19. Hofstra
20. Bryant

The Gators, entering just their fourth season as a varsity program, achieved significant milestones in 2012, posting a 19-3 overall record and defeating eventual national champion Northwestern twice en route to the American Lacrosse Conference regular-season and tournament titles. Florida, behind 2012 Tewaaraton Award finalist and 2013 U.S. World Cup team finalist Brittany Dashiell (44g, 25a), earned the No. 1 seed for the NCAA tournament and advanced to the semifinals before losing to Syracuse in double overtime. The defending national champion Wildcats enter 2013 ranked No. 3, behind the second-ranked Orange.

NCAA Division I Women
1. Florida
2. Syracuse
3. Northwestern
4. Maryland
5. North Carolina
6. Loyola
7. Duke
8. Virginia
9. Penn State
10. Notre Dame
11. Dartmouth
12. Penn
13. Ohio State
14. Georgetown
15. Cornell
16. Towson
17. UMass
18. Stony Brook
19. Boston College
20. Princeton


Create a free lacrosse website