Twenty Players Are Candidates for 2013 Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, KS Twenty NCAA student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate men's lacrosse. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2013 candidate class includes six candidates who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. One candidate was named to the CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-American At-Large team, and eight were members of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-America team.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Lacrosse Championships in Philadelphia, May 25-27.

Name              Position              School
Peter Baum Attack Colgate
Jesse Bernhardt Long-Stick Midfield Maryland
Brendan Buckley Defense Army
Davis Butts Midfield Loyola - Maryland
Clay Del Prince Defense Brown
Nick Dolik Midfield Penn State
Jason Gonos Defense Harvard
Marcus Holman Attack North Carolina
Jordan Houtby Long-Stick Midfield Detroit
Mike Huffner Defense Bucknell
Peter Johnson Defense Yale
Chris LaPierre Midfield Virginia
Danny Martinsen Attack Siena
Brian Megill Defense Syracuse
Matt Miller Defense Notre Dame
Jason Noble Defend Cornell
Scott Ratliff Long-Stick Midfield Loyola - Maryland
Logan Schuss Attack Ohio State
Sam Snow Attack Fairfield
Ryan Snyder Midfield Lehigh


Create a free lacrosse website