Additions to the Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists Announced

WASHINGTON, March 14, 2013 The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the first of two rounds of additions to the Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists, presented by Panama Jack. Three men and three women have been added to the watch lists, from which the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award winners will be selected and honored May 30, 2013, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The players added to the Tewaaraton Award watch lists, with college affiliation and early-season statistics included, are

Jeff Froccaro, Princeton Sr., M (14G, 3A, 16/28, 57% face-offs in five games)
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame Fr., A (9G, 3A in four games)
Andrew Scalley, Mt. St. Mary's - Jr., A (24G, 23A in eight games)

Casey Bocklet, Virginia - Soph., A (21G, 8A in seven games)
Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Soph., M (27G, 2A, 28 draw controls in 10 games)
Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown - Soph., A (15G, 8A in six games)

The Tewaaraton Award lists, which include 2012 Tewaaraton winners Peter Baum (Colgate) and Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland) were first announced Feb. 22, and a second round of additions will be announced on April 11 (if applicable). Both lists will be narrowed to a leading group of 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees that will be announced at a special event on the evening of April 26 at The University Club of Washington, DC. The five men's and five women's finalists will be announced May 9. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 30 in Washington, D.C.

"The men's and women's selection committees continue to work diligently throughout the season to identify the top lacrosse players in the nation," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "We are proud to recognize these worthy additions to this year's watch lists and look forward to the remaining college lacrosse action this season."

Following the second round of watch lists additions, The Tewaaraton Foundation will announce the 25 men's and women's Tewaaraton Award nominees at a special cocktail reception held in conjunction with the U.S. Women's National Team and coach Ricky Fried. The reception will take place Friday, April 26, at The University Club of Washington, DC, and is jointly hosted by The Tewaaraton Foundation and the US Lacrosse Foundation. Information on attending this special event is available at


Create a free lacrosse website