Tewaaraton Award Watch List Additions Announced

WASHINGTON, April 11, 2013 The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the second of two rounds of additions to the Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists. Two men and nine women have been added to the watch lists, from which the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award winners will be selected and honored May 30, 2013, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The players added to the Tewaaraton Award watch lists, with college affiliation and early-season statistics included, are:

Jeff Lowman, St. John's Sr., G (7-2 record, .575 save percentage in 10 games)
Anthony Santomo, Penn Sr., D (2G, 18 ground balls in nine games)

Nikki Boltja, Louisville Jr., M (42G, 9A in 12 games)
Ellen Halle, Middlebury Soph., A (33G, 19A in 10 games)
Kacie Johnson, Columbia Sr., A (38G, 10A, 25 ground balls in 11 games)
Kerrin Maurer, Duke Soph., A (25G, 21A in 12 games)
Maggie McCormick, Penn State Soph., A (26G, 20G in 11 games)
Erin McMunn, Princeton Soph., A (26G, 19A in 10 games)
Rachel Ozer, Stanford Jr., A (28G, 12A in 10 games)
Jill Remenapp, Denver Soph., A (25G, 49A in 14 games)
Mikaela Rix, Boston College Soph., M (32G, 3A, 21 ground balls, 39 draw controls in 12 games)

The Tewaaraton Award men's and women's watch lists, which include 2012 Tewaaraton winners Peter Baum (Colgate) and Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland), were first announced Feb. 22 and the first round of additions was announced March 14. Both lists will be narrowed to a leading group of 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees that will be announced at a special event on the evening of April 26 at The University Club of Washington, DC. The five men's and five women's finalists will be announced May 9, and will all be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony.

"The men's and women's selection committees continue to work diligently throughout the season to identify the top lacrosse players in the nation," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "We are proud to recognize these deserving watch list additions and look forward to naming this year's nominees later this month."

Following this second round of watch lists additions, The Tewaaraton Foundation will announce the 25 men's and women's Tewaaraton Award nominees at a special cocktail reception held in conjunction with the U.S. Women's National Team and coach Ricky Fried. The reception will take place Friday, April 26, at The University Club of Washington, DC, and is jointly hosted by The Tewaaraton Foundation and the US Lacrosse Foundation. Information on attending this special event is available at www.tewaaraton.com.

To view the full Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists or for information on attending the May 30 Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, visit www.tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at www.facebook.com/tewaaraton and www.twitter.com/tewaaraton.


Create a free lacrosse website