Seedings Announced for Atlantic 10 and Big South Tournaments

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.-Massachusetts will be the top seed for the 2013 Atlantic 10 Women's Lacrosse Championship, which begins Friday, April 26 at Warren P. McGuirk Alumni Stadium on the UMass campus.

Duquesne, Temple and George Washington have also qualified for the championship, which determines the league's automatic qualifier for the NCAA Tournament. The final, which will be played on Sunday, will air live on CBS Sports Network while the semifinals will be streamed live on

The Minutewomen, who will be playing for their fifth straight A-10 title, completed their third perfect conference season at 7-0. UMass was ranked 12th in the IWLCA Coaches Poll and 11th in the deBeer Media Poll in last week's rankings and is currently 15-2 overall and on a 12-match winning streak.

Massachusetts will face fourth-seeded George Washington, who finished tied for third at 4-3 overall. The Colonials are 9-7 overall. The UMass-GW semifinal game will be played Friday at 1:00 pm.

Second-seeded Duquesne finished A-10 play at 5-2 and is 10-6 overall. The Dukes will face third-seeded Temple on Friday at 3:30 pm in the other semifinal. TU was 4-3 in league play and 9-7 overall.

GW, Richmond and Temple all tied for third at 4-3, initiating the league's multiple-team tiebreaking procedure. TU earned the third seed by virtue of a win over Duquesne earlier in the season. The Colonials then claimed the fourth and final championship bid via a head-to-head tie breaker with Richmond.

The two semifinal winners will meet Sunday at 1:00 pm in the championship final.

* * * *

CHARLOTTE, N.C. Davidson has secured the No. 1 seed in the inaugural Big South Conference Women's Lacrosse Championship and will serve as host of the event April 26 and 28 at Richardson Stadium, it was determined today as the Conference season concluded this afternoon. The inaugural championship features the top four teams in the final league standings.

The Wildcats finished the Big South season with a perfect 7-0 Conference record to win the outright regular-season title and the right to serve as host. They will take on No. 4 seed Liberty in the first Semifinal game on Friday at 4:00 pm. The Lady Flames concluded the regular-season fourth in the League standings with a 4-3 Big South mark.

High Point is the No. 2 seed in the Championship, as the Panthers went 6-1 in the Big South this season. They will face No. 3 seed Longwood in the second Semifinal game on Friday at 7:00 pm, as the Lancers ended the year with a 5-2 Conference record to clinch a berth in the Championship.

Friday's games will be video streamed live on the Big South Network, and the two winners will meet in the Championship contest on Sunday at 2:00 pm, which will be carried live on ESPN3. The Big South champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship. Live Stats for all three games will be available on as well.

Friday, April 26 - Semifinals
Game 1: No. 1 Davidson vs. No. 4 Liberty, 4:00pm ET
Game 2: No. 2 High Point vs. No. 3 Longwood, 7:00pm ET

Sunday, April 28 - Championship
Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 2:00pm ET (TV: ESPN3)


Create a free lacrosse website