#2 Limestone Tops No. 11 Pfeiffer to Win 5th Straight CC Title

BURLINGTON, N.C. A six goal second half burst and tremendous defense led No. 2 Limestone (14-1, 6-0 CC) to its fifth straight Conference Carolinas championship with a 16-8 victory over rival No. 11 Pfeiffer (13-4, 5-1 CC) on Sunday, April 21.

The championship is the Saints sixth in the conference and 14th overall. They have won a tournament title in 14 of the last 15 years dating back to the Deep South Conference and have claimed all but one in Conference Carolinas.

Senior midfielder Tor Reinholdt (Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada) earned Most Outstanding Player honors with three goals, three assists and a pair of groundballs while junior attack Todd Nakasuji (Ajax, Ontario, Canada), senior midfielder Ahmaad Simmons (Baltimore City, Md.) and senior goalkeeper Christian Dzwilewski (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.) joined him on the All-Tournament Team.

Nakasuji was a force early with a total of four goals while freshman midfielder Reid Reinholdt (Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada) finished with a goal, two assists and four groundballs. Senior attack Riley Loewen (Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada) also had a goal and two assists while senior attack Corey Rich (Sacramento, Calif.) and senior midfielder Zach Cummings (Crownsville, Md.) each had a pair of scores. Rich added five groundballs on the day.

Senior face-off specialist Jake Ternosky (LaFayette, N.Y.) was masterful at the center "X" as he went 16 of 26 with six groundballs and Dzwilewski played 58:18 in goal, allowing just eight goals and making 14 saves in a battle of the league's top two keepers.

Limestone showed why they are one of the top offenses in the country as they exploded for an early 5-1 lead at the 4:16 mark of the first quarter behind three goals from Todd Nakasuji. It would then be Pfeiffer's James Shepherd then stepped up, and assisted on the Falcons first goal and scored the next two to draw to within 5-3 with 12:44 left in the second quarter.

Senior midfielder Connor DeVoe (East Rockaway, N.Y.) then rifled home an unassisted score at 10:23 and was followed just over a minute later by Corey Rich who put home a man-up opportunity to make it 7-4. They would continue the offensive onslaught as they pushed the lead to 9-5 with 14:01 on the clock in the third quarter before Pfeiffer drilled home back-to-back scores to cut it to 9-7 at 9:32.

From there, it would be all Limestone as they powered home six straight scores over the next 15:31 to put the game well out of reach and drive the lead to a daunting 15-7 with 8:08 remaining in the game. Of those six goals, five were scored by different Saints with only Tor Reinholdt getting more than one.

Pfeiffer's Mike Triolo added what would be the last Falcon goal at 7:51 and junior attack Todd Kozak (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada) capped it off with the 16th Limestone goal at 2:03 and wrapped up the title with a 16-8 victory.

Shepherd led the way for Pfeiffer with a pair of scores and an assist and three groundballs while Steven Tilmon added two goals and three groundballs. Robert Hope and Triolo each had a goal and an assist and Triolo added six groundballs and two caused turnovers. All-Conference First-Team selection Hayden Kirk played 58:18 and gave up 16 goals while making nine saves to fall to 13-4.

Limestone continues their record setting season as they host Catawba in a non-conference showdown on Saturday, April 27. Also serving as Senior Day, that game is slated for an opening faceoff of 1:00 p.m. at Saints Field.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website