All-Patriot League Lacrosse Team, Major Awards Announced

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - The four teams to qualify for this weekend's upcoming Patriot League Tournament have more to celebrate as the All-Patriot League team and major awards were announced Tuesday morning by the League office.

Twenty-four of the 26 student-athletes to earn All-League honors are competing in the tournament, as well as four of the five recipients of major awards.

Army sophomore attackman John Glesener was named the Offensive Player of the Y ear, while senior teammate Brendan Buckley was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year. Lehigh sophomore Matt Poillon was named Goalkeeper of the Year, and Bucknell freshman attackman Sean Doyle garnered the Rookie of the Year nod. The final award went to Holy Cross' Jim Morrissey, who was named Coach of the Year.

Voting was conducted by the seven head coaches who could not cast a ballot for themselves or their own student-athletes.

Lehigh earned the most All-League selections with seven, followed by Bucknell and Army, with six apiece. Colgate was next with five on the All-League squad, while Holy Cross and Navy achieved one each.

Twelve of the 26 All-Leaguers are seniors, followed by seven sophomores, five juniors and a pair of freshmen.

Glesener moved up to attack from midfield this season and it paid immediate dividends. The sophomore leads the League in points per game (4.67) and has the second-highest point total (56 on 29 goals and 27 assists). He was just as effective in League games, leading the way in goals (3.00) and points (5.33) per game in those six contests while taking second (2.33) in assists per game. Glesener was also recognized with placement on the All-League first team. He is Army's second Offensive Player of the Year in three seasons (Jeremy Boltus, 2011), and the seventh in program history named to the honor.

Buckley, also one of 10 finalists for the Senior CLASS Award, is the League's reigning Scholar-Athlete of the Year in men's lacrosse and adds another trophy to his career haul as Defensive Player of the Year. He is Army's fourth straight to win the honor, joining former Black Knight standouts Bill Henderson (2010-11) and Tim Henderson (2012). He's the seventh from Army to garner the award since its inception in 1995. Buckley has picked up 21 groundballs and caused 19 turnovers in 12 games thus far, and has been marking the oppositions' top scoring threat all season long. He guarded Colgate's Peter Baum, the reigning Tewaaraton and Enners awards winner, in their March 31 showdown and held him pointless for the first time in 54 games. Buckley earned first-team All-League laurels for the second straight season.

Poillon becomes the third back-to-back recipient of the Goalkeeper of the Year honor, joining Navy's Matt Russell (2005-06) and Army's Adam Fullerton (2007-08). The sophomore from Mount Sinai, N.Y., enters the postseason with the League's second-best goals-against average (7.70) and save percentage (.595). He owns a record of 9-2 on the season, including a 6-0 mark in Patriot League play. In League contests Poillon posted a League-best .620 save percentage while taking second with a 6.96 goals-against average. He is also a first-team All-League honoree for the second year in a row.

Doyle is the League's top goal-scoring rookie with 25 tallies in 12 games, and his 2.08 goals-per-game clip is sixth in the League. He increased that average to 2.5 per outing in six League games, good for fourth in the League, with 15 goals in six games. He finished tied for second in conference contests with 3.83 points per game, and enters the tournament averaging 3.25 points. Doyle is Bucknell's seventh Rookie of the Year and first since Charlie Streep in 2009. The Bison have had four of the last eight Rookies of the Year, including Joe Mele (2006) and Austin Winter (2007).

1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website