All-Patriot League Lacrosse Team, Major Awards Announced

The All-League squad was rounded out by one selection each from Holy Cross and Navy. Junior Mid long pole Pat Kiernan earned first-team laurels for the first time after making the second team a season ago. He sits tied for second in the League in total groundballs 68, while his 5.23 per-game average is third. Senior midfielder John Hannan represented the Crusaders on the second team. He's second on the team with 23 goals and tied for third with 26 points. Three of his tallies were with the extra man.

The 2013 Patriot League Men's Lacrosse Tournament starts Friday with two semifinal contests, both on CBS Sports Network. No. 2 seed Bucknell battles third-seeded Army at 4:30 p.m., while host and No. 1 seed Lehigh takes on fourth seed Colgate at 7:30 p.m. The winners advance to Sunday's championship game at 3:00 p.m. All three games will take place at Lehigh's Ulrich Sports Complex in Bethlehem, Pa.

2013 All-Patriot League Team and Major Awards in Men's Lacrosse

Offensive Player of the Year - John Glesener, Army, So., A
Defensive Player of the Year - Brendan Buckley, Army, Sr., D
Rookie of the Year - Sean Doyle, Bucknell, Fr., A
Goalkeeper of the Year - Matt Poillon, Lehigh, So.
Coach of the Year - Jim Morrissey, Holy Cross

First Team
John Glesener, Army, So., A
Garrett Thul, Army, Sr., A (**!)
Peter Baum, Colgate, Sr., A (***)
David Dickson, Bucknell, So., M (!)
Thomas Flibotte, Bucknell, Fr., M
Jimmy Ryan, Colgate, Jr., M
Brendan Buckley, Army, Sr., D
Bobby Lawrence, Colgate, Jr., D (*)
Mike Noone, Lehigh, Sr., D (!)
Alex Daly, Army, Fr., FOS
Pat Kiernan, Navy, Jr., LSM (!)
Matt Poillon, Lehigh, So., GK (*)

Second Team &
Chase Bailey, Bucknell, Sr., A
Ryan Walsh, Colgate, So., A (!)
David DiMaria, Lehigh, Sr., A (!)
John Hannan, Holy Cross, Sr., M
Patrick Corbett, Lehigh, So., M
Brian Hess, Lehigh, Sr., M
Mike Huffner, Bucknell, Sr., D (**)
Jackson Place, Bucknell, Jr., D
Ty Souders, Lehigh, Jr., D (*)
Ryan Gutowski, Bucknell, Sr., FOS
Robert Grabher, Colgate, Sr., FOS (*)
Ryan Snyder, Lehigh, Sr., FOS (*!)
Jimbo D'Aprile, Army, So., D-Mid
Sam Somers, Army, So., GK

& Second team features 14 student-athletes because of a tie in the voting
* Number of previous first-team accolades
! Number of previous second-team accolades

«  Previous    1 2 3


Create a free lacrosse website