Field for the 2013 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships

BALTIMORE, April 23, 2013 Three-time national champion Colorado State earned the top seed in the Division I bracket of the 2013 US Lacrosse Women's Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championships, while James Madison earned the No. 1 seed in the Division II bracket.

The event, featuring the top women's collegiate club teams in the country, takes place May 8-11 at the El Pomar Sports Complex in Colorado Springs, Colo. The Division I bracket includes 16 teams while the Division II bracket has eight teams. Division I and II seednigs are listed below.

Colorado State, which has won the Division I national title three of the last five years, has a perfect 18-0 record. The Rams beat the No. 2 seed, Brigham Young University (BYU) 9-6 to win the Rocky Mountain Women's Lacrosse League championship, on April 20. This is the 10th consecutive year that the Rams have received a bid to the US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships, and the second consecutive year they've been the No. 1 seed.

In the Division II bracket, tournament newcomer James Madison University Club earned the top seed. The Dukes finished the season with a 14-3 record during the season and won the Mid Atlantic Women's Lacrosse League (MAWLL) Division II title, with an 18-11 win over Duke University Club, the Division II championships No. 3 seed, on April 21.

Selections for the field are based on a variety of criteria, including: overall record, record versus ranked teams, won-loss versus common opponents, record versus WCLA teams, quality wins/quality losses, upsets, head-to-head results, conference playoff performance, final conference standings, record for last five (5) games, and more.

The US Lacrosse WCLA structure consists of approximately 200 college programs from across the country. More information about the 2013 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships can be found at Further information about the WCLA is available online at

Division I
No. 1 Colorado State
No. 2 Brigham Young
No. 3 Georgia
No. 4 Cal Poly San Luis Opispo
No. 5 Texas
No. 6 Virginia
No. 7 Florida
No. 8 Pittsburgh
No. 9 Southern California
No. 10 Santa Clara
No. 11 UC Santa Barbara
No. 12 Michigan
No. 13 Maryland
No. 14 Minnesota
No. 15 Oregon
No. 16 Northeastern

Division II
No. 1 James Madison
No. 2 Utah
No. 3 Duke
No. 4 North Carolina
No. 5 Loyola
No. 6 Oakland
No. 7 Minnesota-Duluth
No. 8 Santa Barbara City College


Create a free lacrosse website