All-Atlantic Sun Conference Teams and Player/Coach Awards

MACON, Ga. - In the inaugural season of Atlantic Sun Women's Lacrosse, two Detroit players highlighted the year as Zaynib Hamze was announced as Player of the Year and teammate Lexie McCormick collected Defensive Player of the Year Honors.

The Titans landed five on the First-Team All-Conference including Hamze, McCormick, Taylor Marshall, Brittany Busch and Erin Campbell.

Hamze led the league in caused turnovers per game (1.65), while leading the Titans in goals (36) and assists (14). McCormick has dominated in goal as she leads the nation in total saves with 159, respectively. McCormick posted a career-high 19 saves vs. Jacksonville, the A-Sun regular season champions.

The Dolphins secured five student-athletes on the all-conference first team. Head Coach Mindy McCord collected Coach of the Year accolades by leading the Dolphins to an undefeated conference season.

Making the all-conference first team for the Dolphins were seniors Amanda Hurley, Rachel Hannon and Jessica Hotchkiss. Adding to the team for JU were Brit Orashen and Taylor McCord.

McCord averaged 1.43 assist per game to lead the conference, while teammate Hurley scored 36 goals for the Dolphins. Orashen was a factor on both ends of the field she has produced 29 goals, seven assists, 40 ground balls, 38 draw controls, and 22 caused turnovers on the year.

JU's Kelsey Wiglesworth and Kennesaw State's Senneca Ward captured A-Sun Co-Freshman of the Year Honors. Wiglesworth scored ten goals this season while adding 22 draw controls. Ward led the A-Sun in goals per game (3.10), points per game (3.20) and draw controls (3.50).

Howard and KSU each marked a player on the all-conference first team with the Bisons' Jaymie Cox and the Owls' Ward both collecting first-team honors. Cox registered 29 goals this season while adding 44 draw controls for the Bison.

Player of the Year: Zaynib Hamze, Detroit
Defensive Player of the Year: Lexie McCormick, Detroit
Co-Freshman of the Year: Kelsey Wiglesworth, Jacksonville
Co-Freshman of the Year: Senneca Ward, Kennesaw State
Coach of the Year: Mindy McCord, Jacksonville

First Team
*Amanda Hurley A Jacksonville Sr. Columbus, Ga.
*Taylor McCord A Jacksonville So. Jacksonville, Fla.
*Zaynib Hamze M Detroit Sr. Dublin, Calif
*Jaymie Cox M Howard So. Hendersonville, Tenn.
*Brit Orashen M Jacksonville Jr. Labanon, N.J..
Erin Campbell A Detroit Jr. Orangeville, Ont.
Senneca Ward M Kennesaw State Fr. Peachtree, Ga.
Britany Busch D Detroit Sr. Flint, Mich.
Taylor Marshall D Detroit So. Cincinnati, Ohio
Jessica Hotchkiss D Jacksonville Sr. Manlius, N.Y.
Rachel Hannon D Jacksonville Sr. Annapolis, Md.
Lexie McCormick G Detroit So. Peterborough, Ont.

Second Team
Lindsey Saunders A Detroit Sr. Passadena, Md.
Cynthia Smalls A Howard Jr. Far Rockaway, N.Y.
Morgan Derner A Jacksonville Jr. Lake Mary, Fla.
Danielle Horgan A Stetson Fr. Miami, Fla.
Megan Callahan M Detroit Sr. Lake Worth, Fla.
Courtney Lackey M Howard Jr.. Trenton, N.J.
Ellyn Spangenberg M Jacksonville Sr. Chuluota, Fla.
Mary Kate O'Sullivan M Stetson Fr. Naples, Fla.
Amanda Guthrie D Detroit So. Winter Springs, Fla.
Chelsea Watts D Jacksonville Jr. West Long Branch, N.J.
Kaylee Quint D Jacksonville Jr. Lake Mary, Fla.
Karli Tobin G Jacksonville Sr. Moorestown, N.J.

Freshman Team
*Kelsey Wiglesworth M Jacksonville Fr. Towson, Md.
*Senneca Ward M Kennesaw State Fr. Peachtree City, Ga.
*Michaela Schwartz A Detroit Fr. Hugo, Minn.
*Sally Holbert A Jacksonville Fr. Columbus, Ohio
*Kylie Birney M Detroit Fr. Plymouth, Mich.
*Mary Kate O'Sullivan M Stetson Fr. Naples, Fla.
*Caili Guilday G Stetson Fr. Wallingford, Pa.
Danielle Horgan A Stetson Fr. Miami, Fla.
Paige Levesque A Stetson Fr. Bennington, Vt.
Victoria Lockhart M Howard Fr. Flushing, Mich.
Maylis Broderick M Stetson Fr. Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
Morgan Miller D Detroit Fr. North Royalton, Ohio

* Unanimous choice


Create a free lacrosse website