Massachusetts, Duquesne Sweep Top A-10 Lacrosse Awards

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.-Katie Ferris of Massachusetts, Duquesne's Amada Kidder and Kristen Gregory won the Atlantic 10's top women's lacrosse awards, which were announced Thursday along with the First and Second Team All-Conference, and the All-Academic and All-Rookie teams.

Ferris repeated as the league's Offensive Player of the Year while Kidder earned Midfielder of the Year honors. Gregory, a goalkeeper, was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. Freshman Lib Lowry of Duquesne was named Rookie of the Year and UMass coach Angela McMahon was voted Coach of the Year.

The top awards, All-Conference and All-Rookie were voted on by the Atlantic 10's eight coaches. The All-Academic team was selected by a vote of the league's media relations directors.

Ferris ranked 14th nationally and led the A-10 in points (4.53/game) and ranked second in goals (3.07/game) and third in assists (1.47/game). A junior attacker from Carthage, Ferris repeats as the A-10's Offensive Player of the Year while leading UMass to a perfect 7-0 conference record for the third straight season. Ferris also earned A-10 Rookie of the Year honors her freshman season.

Kidder ranked 10th nationally and led the A-10 in caused turnovers (1.94/game), and was third in the league in ground balls (2.31/game). A sophomore from Fairport, N.Y., Kidder also led the Dukes offensively, ranking fourth in the Atlantic 10 in points (3.75/game) and goals (2.88/game). Like Ferris, Kidder is a former A-10 Rookie of the Year, having won the award last season.

Along with Kidder, Gregory was a key component to Duquesne's play this season, leading the Dukes to a second-place finish. She ranked 11th in the nation and led the A-10 in save percentage, stopping 119 shots among 251 faced for a save percentage of .474. A junior from Chester Springs, Pa., Gregory also ranked third in the league in goals against average among goalkeepers with 800 or more minutes.

Lowry, an attacker from Wayne, Pa., ranked eighth in the league in assists (1.12/game). She started all 16 games for Duquesne, scoring 14 goals and 18 assists for 32 total points.

McMahon earned her third straight Coach of the Year award after leading the Minutewomen to their third perfect A-10 season and a No.13/10 national ranking. UMass finished the regular season 7-0 in the Atlantic 10 and 15-2 overall.

The 2013 Atlantic 10 Lacrosse Championship begins Friday at UMass' McGuirk Stadium. Top-seeded Massachusetts plays No. 4 George Washington at 1:00 pm and No. 2 Duquesne faces No. 3 Temple at 3:30 pm. The championship game will be played Sunday at 1:00 pm and will air live on CBS Sports Network.

First Team
Katie Ferris, Massachusetts
Caitlin Fifield, Richmond
Sam Stevenson, Richmond
Stephany Parcell, Temple

Amanda Kidder, Duquesne
Caitlyn Brostrand, La Salle
Tanner Guarino, Massachusetts
Charlotte Swavola, Temple

Aubrey Green, Duquesne
Kelsey McGovern, Massachusetts
Taylor Blazer, Richmond

Kristen Gregory, Duquesne

Second Team
Haley Marafioti, Duquesne
Jamie Bumgardner, George Washington
Sam Rush, Massachusetts

Meredith Dunn, Duquesne
Melanie Sarcinello, La Salle
Julia Falcone, Saint Joseph's

Caitlyn O'Brien, George Washington
Jenn Seitz, George Washington
Kelsey Sheridan, Massachusetts
Tara Coyle, Richmond
Brittany Hanrahan, Saint Joseph's

Jess Hicks, George Washington

Lib Lowry, Duquesne
Olivia Boudreau, George Washington
Julia Lawson, George Washington
Katelyn Fay, La Salle
Nicole Troost, Massachusetts
Emily Newman, Richmond
Carrie Kubasta, St. Bonaventure
Genevieve Giblin, Saint Joseph's
Caroline Hagan, Saint Joseph's
Rachel Schwaab, Temple
Nicole Tiernan, Temple
Kirstie Connor, Temple

Offensive Player of the Year: Katie Ferris, Massachusetts
Midfielder of the Year: Amanda Kidder, Duquesne
Defensive Player of the Year: Kristen Gregory, Duquesne
Rookie of the Year: Lib Lowry, Duquesne
Coach of the Year: Angela McMahon, Massachusetts


Create a free lacrosse website