2013 Men's Lacrosse All-Ivy Teams and Awards Announced

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Cornell senior attack Rob Pannell (Smithtown, N.Y.) became the Ivy League's first-ever, three-time Player of the Year award winner when the League's annual postseason awards were announced.

Pannell previously won the Ancient Eight's top men's lacrosse honor in 2010 and 2011. He also became just the third four-time All-Ivy selection in League history, joining Princeton's Chad Wiedmaier and Max Seibald.

Nationally, Pannell is the fourth player in college lacrosse history to earn Player of the Year from his conference three times. Previous three-time recipients were Matt Danowski of Duke, who won Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year in 2005, 2007 and 2008; Brandon Corp of Colgate, who won Patriot League Player of the Year in 2007, 2008 and 2009; and Army's Tim Pearson, who won the Patriot League honor in 1999, 2001 and 2002.

Pannell, considered by many to be a strong candidate for the Tewaaraton Award, leads the Ivy League in scoring with 75 points this season on 34 goals and a League-high 41 assists. He has twice this season logged nine points in a game. Earlier this year, he became the League's all-time leader in points, currently at 327.

Princeton freshman midfielder Jake Froccaro (Sands Point, N.Y.) was named the League's Rookie of the Year. Froccaro is fourth on the Tigers in scoring with 31 points on the season. He has 22 goals and nine assists in 13 games. He has also grabbed 26 ground balls.

Pannell was joined on the All-Ivy first team by three teammates who joined him as unanimous first-team All-Ivy selections -- senior attack Steve Mock (Huntington, N.Y.), sophomore midfielder Connor Buczek (Cincinnati, Ohio), and senior defender Jason Noble (Orangeville, Ontario, Canada). Mock leads the Ivies in goals with 45, including a League-best 26 in conference play. Mock, who last week was named among the 25 candidates for the Tewaaraton Award, also leads the Ivy in points during the Ivy slate with 30.

Buczek is third on the Cornell team in points with 41. He has 27 goals on the year to go along with 14 assists, which ranks second on the squad behind Pannell. Noble, a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, has 46 ground balls and 28 caused turnovers thus far this year. It is Noble's second straight first-team All-Ivy selection.

Princeton's duo of sophomore attack Mike MacDonald (Georgetown, Ontario, Canada) and junior midfielder Tom Schreiber (East Meadow, N.Y.) earned first-team All-Ivy honors. Garnering first-team honors for a three-straight season including unanimous selection this season, Schreiber recorded 24 points in Ivy action (third best in the League) and is fourth in the League in points overall with 51 on 25 goals and 26 assists. He is also among the 25 candidates for the Tewaaraton Award.

MacDonald leads the Tigers in goals with 35 and is fifth in the League in scoring with 47 points. Eighteen of MacDonad's 35 goals came in Ivy play.

One of the top defensive teams in the nation, Penn boasted a trio of Quakers on the first team -- junior goalie Brian Feeney (Summit, N.J.), senior defender Anthony Santomo (Mendham, N.J.) and junior midfielder Zack Losco (Smithtown, N.Y.). Feeney had a stunning 6.63 goals against average in six Ivy League games this season and a .604 save percentage. Overall, Feeney's goals against is 7.23 this season and he has logged three games with save percentages better than 80 percent.

Losco is Penn's leading goal scorer with 22 on the year and is second on the squad in points with 28. Santomo, a unanimous first-team selection, has 22 ground balls and 26 caused turnovers in 12 games this season.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website