Ancarrow and Rohrback Headline 2013 All-CAA Lacrosse Teams

TOWSON, Md. (May 2, 2013) James Madison senior attacker Casey Ancarrow and Towson junior attacker Ashleigh Rohrback have been named the 2013 CAA Co-Players of the Year in women's lacrosse by a vote of the league's head coaches. Ancarrow and Rohrback were honored at the annual CAA awards banquet held Thursday evening in Towson, Md. on the eve of the CAA Women's Lacrosse Championship.

Also receiving top honors were Towson senior defender Alexa Demski and Hofstra sophomore defender April Iannetta who were named the CAA Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Hofstra freshman attacker Becky Conto was selected as the CAA Rookie of the Year and Towson head coach Sonia LaMonica was named CAA Coach of the Year for the third year in a row.

Ancarrow earned her second consecutive Player of the Year award, becoming the second player in JMU history and the third-ever in the CAA to receive the honor in back-to-back years. The Jarrettsville, Md., native led the Dukes with 53 points on 41 goals and 12 assists while finishing with a shooting percentage of .603. Ancarrow also made her presence felt in other areas of the field with a team-leading 30 draw controls and 11 ground balls. In addition to the Player of the Year Award, Ancarrow is a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award, which is presented to the nation's top women's lacrosse player.

Despite missing the first six games due to injury, Rohrback became Towson's second Player of the Year award winner and the Tigers' first since 2010. The Westminster, Md., topped the CAA with 4.1 points per game (41 total) and also led the conference with 2.3 assists per game (23 total). Rohrback ranked third on the team with 18 goals scored this season while compiling a shooting percentage of .562. The redshirt-junior attacker also contributed in other phases of the game with eight ground balls and three caused turnovers.

Demski earned Defensive Player of the Year honors after leading Towson with 32 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers this season. She is the second Towson player to receive Defensive Player of the Year honors and the first since 2009. The Baltimore native helped lead a Tigers' defense that allowed the third fewest goals in the CAA (146) and ranked fourth in caused turnovers per game (7.12) and fifth in ground balls per game (15.44).

Iannetta became the second player in Hofstra history to win Defensive Player of the Year award and the first since 2005.

She headlined a Pride defensive that was one of the best in the CAA, leading the league with nine caused turnovers per game and ranking second with 17.8 ground balls per game. The Wantagh, N.Y., native led the CAA with two caused turnovers per game (34 total) while adding 40 ground balls and 49 draw controls. Iannetta also made her presence felt on offense scoring 11 goals and handing out six assists.

Conto became the second Hofstra player to earn Rookie of the Year honors and the first since 2004. The freshman attacker made an immediate impact for the Pride, ranking third on the team with 19 points on 15 goals and four assists.

Conto was also three for six in free position attempts and compiled an overall shooting percentage of .405. The fivetime Rookie of the Week honoree led the team with 52 draw controls and topped the CAA with 3.25 draw controls per game. Conto also had 11 ground balls and seven caused turnovers.

LaMonica received Coach of the Year honors for the third straight season in just three years at the helm at Towson. She guided the Tigers to their third straight CAA regular-season title as they went 6-1 in conference play and 8-8 overall.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website