Stanford Upends No. 11 Denver to Win the MPSF Championship

EUGENE, Ore -- The No. 2 seed Stanford Cardinal beat No. 1 seeded and 11th-ranked Denver, 7-6, on Saturday afternoon in Eugene, Ore., to win the 2013 MPSF Lacrosse Tournament Championship.

Hannah Farr, who was named the tournament's most outstanding player following the game, scored two goals and added an assist for the Cardinal. Anna Kim and Lucy Dikeou also scored twice for Stanford.

Kara Secora and Jill Remenapp scored twice to lead Denver. Lyndsey Munoz went the distance in goal for Stanford and made 10 saves. The victory gave Stanford its eighth MPSF Tournament title in the last nine years.

All-Tournament Team
USC - Amanda Johansen, Caroline Cordrey
CAL - Megan Takacs, Amelia Burke
DEN - Mikayla Clark, Kate Henrich, Hannah Hook
STAN - Lyndsey Munoz, Elizabeth Adam, Lucy Dikeou, Anna Kim

Most Outstanding Player - Hannah Farr, Stanford

* * * *

EUGENE, Ore. – Denver's Jill Remenapp (Woodbine, Md.) scored two goals and added an assist, but the No. 11 Pioneers fell in a 7-6 heartbreaker to Stanford in the MPSF championship game at the University of Oregon on Saturday afternoon.

Redshirt senior Kara Secora (Denver, Colo.) added a pair of goals, and redshirt sophomore goalkeeper Hannah Hook (Arnold, Md.) made eight saves for the Pioneers (17-2).

“Stanford played a really great game,” 2013 MPSF Coach of the Year Liza Kelly said. “I am really proud of our defensive performance, and I think we had some great plays on attack. Hopefully our body of work gets us an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament.”

The Cardinal (13-5) scored the first three goals of the game just 8:55 into the contest, but Denver stormed back to tie it and took a 3-3 tie into halftime.

The Pioneers claimed their first lead of the game, when Secora scored an unassisted goal 41 seconds into the second half. After Stanford tied it, Secora again gave DU the edge at 5-4 with 16:59 remaining. However, the Cardinal ripped off three-straight goals to gain a two-goal lead.

Remenapp cut the deficit back to one on an unassisted goal with 2:44 left in the game, but the Pioneers could not find the back of the cage in the waning minutes.

Hook joined seniors Mikayla Clark (Eden Prairie, Minn.) and Kate Henrich (Lansdale, Pa.) on the All-MPSF Tournament Team.

The loss snapped Denver's team-record winning streak at 15 games, and Stanford won its eighth title in the 10 years of the MPSF Tournament to earn the league's automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Denver's season now rests in the hands of the NCAA Tournament committee, which will announce the 26-team field during the selection show on on Sunday at 7:00 p.m. MT.


Create a free lacrosse website