All-Pro Teams and Awards for 2013

An eight-year NLL veteran and St. Catharines, Ontario native, Vinc played collegiately at Canisius College and was drafted in the first round (6th overall) of the 2005 NLL Entry Draft.

The defending champion Knighthawks will host the Minnesota Swarm for their East Division Final playoff game on Saturday at 4 p.m. ET with the winner advancing to the 2013 NLL Championship Game the following weekend.

Brandon Miller from the Philadelphia Wings was the runner-up for the award while the Toronto Rock's Nick Rose finished third in the voting.

Miller, who finished fifth in the league in both saves (556) and minutes played (831:51) in 15 games played, won three Defensive Player of the Week Awards this season. The Orangeville, Ontario native and 13-year NLL veteran is second among the league's active goalies with 174 career games played.

Rose led the league with 10 wins this season, ranked second in saves (607) and third in goals against average (10.61), save percentage (.791) and minutes played (905:01). The Orangeville, Ontario native was originally drafted by Toronto in the third round (28th overall) of the 2008 NLL Entry Draft. The four-year NLL veteran won one Defensive Player of the Week Award this season.

* * * *

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Kyle Rubisch from the Edmonton Rush has won the Defensive Player of the Year Award for the 2013 NLL season.

As the leader of a defensive unit that allowed the second-fewest goals in the league, Rubisch recorded 11 points (3+8), ranked first among NLL defensemen with 128 loose balls, and led the league with 44 forced turnovers to break the NLL single-season record of 43 that he set in 2012.

"Kyle earned this," said Rush general manager and head coach Derek Keenan. "He is the most dominant, shutdown, game-changing defender in all of lacrosse. He is the leader of a very young and talented group of defender and transition guys."

The three-year veteran Rubisch joins Ryan Cousins as the only two NLL players to win the Defensive Player of the Year Award twice, both doing it in consecutive seasons, as Cousins won the award in 2007 and 2008. Rubisch, a Brampton, Ontario native who played collegiately at Dowling College, was the second overall selection in the 2010 NLL Entry Draft.

Mike Grimes from the Washington Stealth was the runner-up for the award while Steve Priolo from the Buffalo Bandits and the Toronto Rock's Patrick Merrill tied for third in the voting.

The seven-year veteran Grimes ranked second among NLL defensemen with 20 points (8+12), tied for second in assists (12), third in goals (8), fourth in loose balls (95), and had 14 forced turnovers. The Peterborough, Ontario native was the sixth overall selection in the 2006 NLL Entry Draft.

Priolo posted seven points (2+5), ranked fifth among NLL defensemen with 76 loose balls, and had nine forced turnovers in his fourth career season. The St. Catharines, Ontario native played collegiately at Brock University and was Buffalo's second-round selection (21st overall) in the 2009 NLL Entry Draft.

The 11-year veteran Merrill registered seven points (1+6), 56 loose balls and had eight forced turnovers. The Montreal, Quebec native, who played collegiately at Mercyhurst College, was the first overall selection in the 2002 NLL Entry Draft.

* * * *

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Jordan MacIntosh from the Minnesota Swarm has won the Transition Player of the Year Award for the 2013 NLL season.

«  Previous    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website