WCLA All-Americans and Amtahcha Awards for 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. Hayley Bernstein of Colorado State and Laura Hunter of Utah were named as the recipients of the Amtahcha Award as the top player in their respective division of the US Lacrosse Women's Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA). Both players were honored during ceremonies held on Wednesday evening.

The Amtahcha Awards were established in 2012 by a gift from Dr. Larry Feldman, founder of LaxPower.com, to the US Lacrosse Foundation.

Bernstein, a two-time first team All-American, led Colorado State to a perfect 18-0 record in the regular season and the Rams are the No. 1 seed for the Division I national championships taking place in Colorado Springs this week. Hunter, a first team All-American midfielder, led Utah to the No. 2 seed in Division II for the national championships.

In addition to the Amtacha Award winners, the All-Americans and major award winners in each Division were honored. The complete list of honorees for both divisions can be found on the All-Americans page. Here are the major awards:

Division I
Attacker of the Year - Maddie Garcia - Senior - Colorado State
Midfielder of the Year - Maggie Burke - Senior - Santa Clara
Defender of the Year - Sarah Llewellyn - Senior - Texas
Goalie of the Year - Emily Seidel - Senior - Georgia
Rookie of the Year - Alexandra Thalhuber - Freshman - Minnesota
Coach of the Year - Gabe Valenzuela - Southern California
Player of the Year - Amtahcha - Hayley Bernstein - Senior - Colorado State

Division II
Attacker of the Year - Desiree Messina - Junior - Oakland
Midfielder of the Year - Jaycee Slack - Junior - Gonzaga
Defender of the Year - Meghan Sewell - Senior - Loyola (Md.)
Goalie of the Year - Molly Burnett - Junior - Loyola (Md.)
Rookie of the Year - Megan McCollough - Freshman - Santa Barbara City
Coach of the Year Towbey Kassa - Oakland
Player of the Year - Amtahcha - Laura Hunter - Grad - Utah


Create a free lacrosse website