Onondaga Wins 5th Consecutive NJCAA National Championship

Onondaga defeated Nassau, 15-11, on Sunday to win its fifth consecutive NJCAA national championship and seventh in the last eight years. The victory was also Onondaga's 70th win in a row, setting a new record for consecutive wins at any level of college lacrosse. The previous record was 69 held by Division III Salisbury.

Jordan Saunderson led the Lazers offense with 4 goals and 3 assists. Randy Staats, the national offensive player of the year, contributed 3 goals and 2 assists. The national goalie of the year, Onondaga goalie Warren Hill, had 17 saves for the Lazers. Hill was named top defensive player of the tournament.

"It was a great season for us getting our fifth straight national title and seventh in eight years," said Onondaga head coach Chuck Wilbur. "We had 45 guys playing as one."

"We are very proud of what Coach Wilbur, his staff, and all of our student-athletes have accomplished," said Athletic Director Rob Edson. "Their sustained excellence and commitment to each other on and off the field is inspirational for all of us here at Onondaga."


Create a free lacrosse website