Cornell's Rob Pannell Heads USILA D1 Player Awards for 2013

* * * *

ALBANY, N.Y. Continuing to fill his trophy case in just his sophomore season, University at Albany men's lacrosse attackman Lyle Thompson garnered the 2013 United States Inside Lacrosse Association Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award on Friday, May 24. Lyle became the first Great Dane in program history to be honored with a major USILA award. The Jack Turnbull Award is given to the top attackman in Division I Men's Lacrosse.

A Tewaaraton Award Finalist, Lyle put together one of the best seasons for an individual in NCAA men's lacrosse history. The sophomore attack racked up 113 points on 50 goals and 63 assists, which was two points shy of breaking the all-time NCAA record set by Steve Marahol (114 points in 1992). The Onondaga Nation, N.Y. native became the fourth Great Dane to be named the America East Player of the Year. In 17 games, Lyle is the nation's leader in points per game with 6.65, which is the 13th highest points per game for an individual in NCAA history.

* * * *

BALTIMORE, MD C Tucker Durkin (Huntingdon, PA/La Salle College HS), a senior on Johns Hopkins , had already established himself as one of the top defensemen in school history before Friday. Now, the fraternity of individuals he's referenced with will be even smaller as he became just the fourth player in Johns Hopkins history and the eighth player in college lacrosse history to twice win the William C. Schmeisser Award as the nation's top defensive player when the USILA's major award winners were announced today.

A three-time All-American, including a first team selection as a junior and senior, Durkin joins Hank Kaestner (1966, 1967), Mark Greenberg (1979, 1980) and Dave Pietramala as the only Johns Hopkins players to win the Schmeisser Award twice. Johns Hopkins' four two-time recipients represent half of the eight who have grabbed the award more than once as Fred Allner, Jr. (1944 - Cornell, 1947 - Princeton), Chris Kane (1977, 1978 - Cornell), Tom Haus (1984, 1986, 1987 C North Carolina) and (1992, 1993 C Princeton) round out this exclusive list.

This season, Durkin led a Johns Hopkins unit that ranks third nationally in scoring defense (7.79). Durkin led the team in caused turnovers (16) and finished fifth in ground balls (32) while regularly drawing the assignment of marking the opposition's top attackman. While match-ups can change throughout a game, the three attackmen he primarily marked in his final three games combined for a total of just two assists in that time.

Durkin is the 13th Johns Hopkins player to win the award (the 13 have combined for 17 selections) and the Blue Jays lead all schools in number of recipients and selections. In addition, this is the third Schmeisser Award for a Johns Hopkins player in the last five years as Michael Evans grabbed the award in 2009.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website