IWLCA Honors Players of the Year in Divisions I, II, and III

The IWLCA has honored 12 student-athletes for their achievements during the 2013 season, as the organization named the Goalie, Defender, Midfielder, and Attacker of the Year for each of the three divisions tonight at the All-American banquet held at the Radisson Hotel Valley Forge in King of Prussia, Pa.

Salisbury's Ashton Wheatley and Florida's Mikey Meagher both repeated as the C. Markland Kelly Award winner as the Goalie of the Year for their respective divisions. Salisbury also picked up the Attacker of the Year honor as Katie Bollhorst was recognized at that position. Trinity's Meaghan Leonard was tabbed as the Midfielder of the Year, the second consecutive year a Bantam was so recognized, while Cortland's Jessica Lavelle earned Defender of the Year Honors.

In Division II, student-athletes from four different institutions earned the honor as the top player at their position, including LIU Post's Jackie Sileo, who repeated as Attacker of the Year. Rollins' Courtney Bianculli was named the Defender of the Year and Florida Southern's Katie Hammerer earned the C. Markland Kelly Award as Goalie of the Year; these two awards are the first for a school from the state of Florida and the first time that either school has had an athlete so named. Lock Haven's Jessica Pandolf was tabbed as the Midfielder of the Year.

In Division I, Maryland picked up two honors as Katie Schwarzmann earned her third consecutive IWLCA Midfielder of the Year honor and Alex Aust was tabbed as Attacker of the Year. Syracuse's Becca Block was named the Defender of the Year.

Wheatley finished the season with a 5.56 goals-against average, the second-best in the nation. Her .563 save percentage was also second-best in all of Division III in 2013. She made a career-high 12 saves in Salisbury's national semifinal win against Middlebury College. The Cambridge, Md., native is constantly directing the defense in front of her and can often be seen leaving the crease to pick up a ground ball or causing a turnover. She led the team with 50 ground balls and has caused 23 turnovers this season.

Lavelle was the first defender to be named the SUNYAC Tournament MVP this season and also was a first team All-SUNYAC and all-region selection in 2013. She leads Cortland with 68 ground balls and 58 caused turnovers and her caused turnovers are second nationally in Div. III.

Leonhard was the NESCAC Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year and the ECAC Division III New England Offensive Player of the Year. She led the team in draw controls and ranked second on the team in scoring. Leonhard added the Trinity Club of Hartford Award, which she received at the College's annual senior athlete awards banquet, as Trinity's top senior female scholar athlete.

Bollhorst led Salisbury with 103 points on with 41 goals and 62 assists. The Severna Park, Md., native graduates as Salisbury's all-time career assist leader with 171 over four years. She also stands as the third-highest scorer in program history with 297 career points.

Hammerer, a junior goalie from California, Md., helped the Moccasins complete their second season with an 11-4 overall record and a top 10 national ranking. Katie finished the season with a .515 save percentage and a 9.68 gaa. She also reset the Florida Southern College record books for saves in a season with 122 and saves in a game with 19.

Bianculli helped Rollins return to the NCAA semifinals for a second consecutive year after notching the Tars' first-ever post-season victory. The graduate student ranked second on the team in caused turnovers and draw controls while leading the Tars in ground balls.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website