Georgetown Visitation's Myers Wins 2013 HLA Schoolgirl Award

BETHLEHEM, Pa. Kelly Myers (Georgetown Visitation) was named the winner of the prestigious Heather Leigh Albert Schoolgirl Award as the top player at the National Tournament.

Myers scored three goals including the tying goal with 3:28 to play as DC Metro 1 claimed the championship with a thrilling 8-7 victory over Long Island at Lehigh University.

Then, after celebrating with her teammates, Meyers a rising senior at Georgetown Visitation (D.C.) was named the winner of the Heather Leigh Albert Schoolgirl Award as the top player in the National Tournament. The award has been presented to the top player in the Schoolgirls' Division since 1994.

Past recipients include former U.S. World Cup team players Lauren Aumiller and Katie Chrest. The HLA National Schoolgirl Lacrosse Award was created to recognize the most outstanding schoolgirl lacrosse player in the Nation, in spirit as well as athletic ability. A trophy, placed in the lacrosse hall of fame is presented at the annual National Tournament and the girl's name added to the elite list of past recipients.

"I was so excited," said Myers, a junior at Georgetown Visitation that has committed to Stanford. "I had no idea. My face was just in utter shock."

2013 Heather Leigh Albert Award Finalists
Kelly Myers, DC Metro 1 (Georgetown Visitation, HLA winner)
Jennifer Giles, Baltimore Metro (Mt. Hebron)
Corinne Wessels, DC Metro 1 (Osbourn Park, Va.)
Samantha Apuzzo LI Metro 1 (West Babylon)
Kylie Ohmiller LI Metro 1 (Islip)
Nikki Ortega LI Metro 1 (Middle Country)
Shelby Fredericks LI Metro 1 (Babylon)
Kenzie Kent Lower New England 1 (Nobles)
Marie McCool, New Jersey South 1 (Moorestown)

Heather Leigh Albert National Schoolgirl Award (Past Recipients)
1994 Beth Potter Philadelphia
1995 Jaque Weitzel South
1996 Sheehan Stanwick South
1997 Sheehan Stanwick South
1998 Kellie Thompson Chesapeake
1999 Lauren Aumiller U.S. U-19 National Team
2000 Kristy Dirks Middle Atlantic
2001 Katie Chrest Middle Atlantic
2002 Kathleen Miller Middle Atlantic
2003 Jennifer Hauser Middle Atlantic
2004 Megan Bosica Middle Atlantic
2005 Megan Bosica Middle Atlantic 1
2006 Emma Hamm Upper Atlantic 1
2007 Amanda Jones Upper Atlantic 1
2008 Kelly Austin Middle Atlantic 1
2009 Taylor Trimble Philly 1
2010 Taylor Trimble Philly 1
2011 Taylor Ranftle Long Island Metro 1
2012 Maeve McMahon Lower New England 1
2013 Kelly Myers DC Metro 1


Create a free lacrosse website