Hopkins, Rutgers to Join Newly Formed Big Ten in 2014-2015

PISCATAWAY, N.J. (June 3, 2013) Rutgers will be a member of the newly formed Big Ten lacrosse conference beginning with its inaugural season for the 2014-15 academic school year, the league announced Monday. The Scarlet Knights join a six-team conference that includes sport affiliate member Johns Hopkins as well as Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State and Penn State.

[The announcements from JHU and other schools appear below.]

Men's and women's lacrosse will become the 27th and 28th Big Ten sponsored sports. Big Ten rules allow for a conference championship when six institutions sponsor a program in any given sport. The six programs that will comprise Big Ten men's lacrosse boast 56 national championships, with schools that have competed for more than a century.

With the addition of Maryland and Rutgers in 2014, the broad-based athletic programs of the 14 Big Ten institutions will sponsor nearly 350 teams in 42 different sports with almost 9,500 student-athletes, more than any other conference.

Head Coach Brian Brecht: "We are entering an exciting era here at Rutgers. This past fall, the university announced that it will join the Big Ten Conference, which arguably combines the highest level of both academics and athletics for our student-athletes. Now, the Big Ten adds lacrosse, as well as Johns Hopkins, to provide our conference with six lacrosse playing schools to compete for an automatic qualifying spot to the NCAA Championship. The strength and branding of the Big Ten Conference will no doubt help grow Rutgers lacrosse, as well as Division I lacrosse. It's a great day for our current student-athletes that are in our locker room, as well as the talented student-athletes we look to recruit for the future. The young men and their families that join the Rutgers lacrosse family will not only be receiving a great education, but will have the best athletic experience playing at the highest level of Division I lacrosse as a part of the most prestigious conference in the country."

* * * *

BALTIMORE, MD - Johns Hopkins University President Ronald J. Daniels announced today that Blue Jay has been accepted by the Big Ten Conference as a sport affiliate member. The announcement comes on the same day that the Big Ten announced the addition of men's lacrosse as an official conference sport. Big Ten play is scheduled to begin during the 2015 season.

Johns Hopkins will join current Big Ten schools Penn State, Ohio State and Michigan as well as future members Maryland and Rutgers in competing for the Big Ten Championship in men's lacrosse. Hopkins will officially become a Big Ten sport affiliate member on July 1, 2014.

"This decision may represent the single greatest change in Johns Hopkins men's lacrosse in more than a century," Daniels said. "I am grateful for the thoughtful process that has led us to this historic place, and I am confident in the success of our shared endeavor in the years to come. "

Johns Hopkins has competed as an independent in men's lacrosse since the program began play in 1883. Since then, the program has produced 44 national championships, nine NCAA titles, 183 First Team All-Americans and 65 members of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. The Blue Jays rank first nationally in overall national titles, First Team All-Americans and Hall of Fame inductees, while JHU's nine NCAA titles rank second all time. Johns Hopkins has also appeared in 41 of the 43 all-time NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championships since the NCAA began sponsoring the national tournament in 1971.

1 2 3 4 5    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website