IWLCA Announces Coaches of the Year for the 2013 Season

Carol Cantele guided the Bullets to their league-record eighth Centennial Conference championship this spring. The team went unbeaten in conference play (9-0) for the second consecutive season and advanced to the NCAA Division III Tournament for the 12th consecutive campaign. Gettysburg spent the entire regular season ranked in the top five in the national poll and closed the year with a record of 19-2, including an undefeated record in regional competition. In her 21st season at the helm, Cantele became the first Bullet women's lacrosse coach to reach 300 career wins and capped the year with a career record of 305-92 at her alma mater.

Foote led her team to the NCAA national semifinals for the 16th time in 2013. The Panthers finished the season with three one-goal losses, two at top-ranked Trinity and one to eventual NCAA Champion Salisbury. Despite losing their starting goaltender and several key starters, the Panthers had another impressive season, leading the NESCAC in goals/game, shots and draw controls. Foote has now coached 499 career games, owning a record of 394-104-1.

Suzette Soboti led University of Redlands to back-to-back SCIAC Championships en route to a 15-5 overall record and a nearly perfect conference mark of 11-1. The Bulldogs ran the table at the SCIAC Tournament after clinching the title with a semifinal win over Pomona-Pitzer Colleges. The Maroon and Gray advanced to the NCAA Division III Championships for the third time in school history and served as host to the opening round in consecutive seasons. Redlands gained eight All-SCIAC honorees, including midfielder Jacky Craycraft as the SCIAC Player of the Year and midfielder Stephanie Garrett as the SCIAC Newcomer of the Year. Six Bulldogs landed on the IWLCA All-West Region teams and Craycraft garnered a pair of All-America distinctions. Bulldog goalkeeper Ana Martinez reset the school record for career saves and midfielder Crystal Painter now sits atop the program's list for career assists.

In Division II, LIU Post's Meghan McNamara led the defending National Champions to another NCAA finals appearance. In 2013 they defended their title topping Limestone 10-7. Going into the season the Pioneers did not focus on last years success, McNamara knew it they would have to continue to improve and work hard everyday. LIU Post finished the season undefeated with a record of 20-0. This years championship marks the fourth National Championship for the program. The team posted 3 first team All-Americans, 2 second team All-Americans and 10 Pioneers were name to the All-Conference team. Among the standouts, Jackie Sileo earned her second consecutive player of the year honors and Ashley Olen was named most outstanding player of the NCAA Div. II tournament.

Limestone head coach Scott Tucker helped lead the Saints to the most impressive season in program history with a 20-2 overall record, No. 2 national ranking and the second NCAA Division II National Championship Game appearance in program history, both within the past three years. The 20 wins is the most in the more than 40 years of Limestone lacrosse history (men's and women's) and goes along with the second highest winning percentage in the country (.909). The latter is one of four top-five national rankings that include No. 2 in points (512) and scoring defense (6.18). The Saints were also third in scoring margin (9.36). This season Tucker has coached four players that have earned All-American status, including first-team honoree Sarah Oor, as well as five All-South Region selections. He was also named Conference Carolinas Coach of the Year for the seventh time and third consecutive year before winning his 200th career game in an 11-10 double overtime victory over No. 3 Rollins in the national semifinals.

«  Previous    1 2 3 4    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website