IWLCA Announces Coaches of the Year for the 2013 Season

In Division I, North Carolina's Jenny Levy led the Tar Heels to its first NCAA championship this spring, capturing the national title with a triple-overtime, 13-12 sudden-victory win over top-seeded and previously undefeated Maryland in the final game. To advance to the title game, UNC defeated Northwestern, 11-4, in the semifinals, limiting the Wildcats to a season-low in goals and beating the defending NCAA champions for a second time this season. Levy led Carolina to the program's seventh appearance in the NCAA Tournament semifinals and its second national title game berth in 18 seasons, all under Levy's tutelage. Levy is the fourth coach to win an NCAA title as both a player and a head coach, and is the sixth-winningest coach in NCAA women's lacrosse history (in number of wins). The Tar Heels went 18-3 in 2013, setting a new UNC record for most victories in a season.

Three other Division I coaches were honored as Regional Coaches of the Year, including Syracuse's Gary Gait, Penn State's Missy Doherty, and Denver's Liza Kelly. Gait wins the honor for the second consecutive year; all three led their squads to the NCAA tournament in 2013.

Doherty led the Nittany Lions (14-7 overall, 4-1 ALC) to their second straight NCAA quarterfinal appearance and the program's most wins since the 1999 season. Under her guidance, Penn State secured back-to-back NCAA tournament berths for the first time since a three-year span from 1995-97 and finished undefeated at home for the first time since 1991. Relying heavily on underclassmen, Doherty steered the Nittany Lions to a share of their first American Lacrosse Conference regular-season championship and led Penn State, which defeated three top-10 teams, to its highest ranked victory since 2007 with a win against then-No. 2 Florida. In 2013, Doherty coached three IWLCA All-Americans, including Tewaaraton Award nominee Maggie McCormick.

Gait led Syracuse back to the national semifinals for the second consecutive year and fourth time in the past six years. The Orange went undefeated in Big East play for the second straight year to claim its sixth regular-season title. Syracuse also won the Big East Tournament crown, defeating No. 6 Georgetown on its home field. The Orange has won 13 consecutive games heading into the national semifinals. The Orange has one of the highest scoring offenses in the country, ranking second in the nation in the latest NCAA statistics. In addition, SU's defense has held its opponents to less than 10 goals in 13 consecutive games. Gait mentored three IWLCA first-team All-Americans, including Big East Attack Player of the Year and Tewaaraton Award finalist Alyssa Murray and Big East Defensive Player of the Year Becca Block. Overall, six members of the Orange earned All-Northeast Region honors.

Kelly led Denver to its first ever NCAA Tournament and Tournament victory in 2013, going 18-3 overall and a perfect 8-0 in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, the fourth time in Kelly's seven seasons at DU that the Pioneers have swept the conference season. For her efforts, Kelly won 2013 MPSF Coach of the Year honors. The Pioneers ranked among the NCAA's Top 10 in caused turnovers (2nd), win percentage (4th), points (5th) and scoring offense (9th). Three Pioneers led the nation in individual statistics: Jill Remenapp in assists (74) and assists per game (3.52), Kate Henrich in caused turnovers (3.33) for the second-straight season, and Hannah Hook in saves (190). Kara Secora joined Remenapp, Henrich and Hook on the IWLCA All-West/Midwest Region teams, and Henrich was named an IWLCA Second Team All-American.

«  Previous    1 2 3 4    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website