Results from the 2013 Vail Lacrosse Shootout Day 8

The 41st annual Vail Lacrosse Shootout is nearing its end. The Men's Masters division came to a close with Team Jaegermeister/Force 5 winning the championship game over Hulu, 13-9, to claim their second consecutive title.

Tomorrow will mark the end of the 41st Shootout with Team STX and Honey Badgers of the Women's Elite division heading to the championship on Ford field at 10:00 am. Lacrossewear and All Out will duke it out in the first-place game of the Men's Elite division on Ford Field at 1:00 pm.

Master's Division

Championship: Jagermeister/Force 5 13, Hulu 9
At the end of the first half Jager led 10-2 and looked to be cruising to a Masters title. Hulu wasn't ready to give up though and mounted a comeback in the second half. Unfortunately for Hulu it was too little too late, as the gap was still four goals. Jager repeats as Vail Lacrosse Shootout Master's division Champions.

3rd Place: Adrenaline 10, Power-Tek 7
Adrenaline started out strong, back stopped by some impressive goalie play. Derek Lamb kept Power-Tek in the game with four goals. Adrenaline played solid defense, stifling Power-Tek's comeback bid.

Consolation Championship: Silver Oysters 5, Olympic Club 4
The game was very close throughout as possessions were lengthy and methodical by both teams. In the second half, the Oyster offense got going and with the only goal in the fourth quarter, the Silver Oyster won the Master's Consolation Championship

7th Place: Middlebury 20, Buddha's Ballers 5
All-Tournament midfielder Dave Leach scored four goals to lead Middlebury to an impressive victory over Buddha's.

Final Standings
1st: Jagermeister/Force 5
2nd: Hulu
3rd: Team Adrenaline
4th: Power-Tek
5th: Silver Oysters
6th: Olympic Club
7th: Middlebury
8th: Buddha's Ballers

All-Tournament Team

Matt Kirkpatrick - Silver Oysters
Bobby Magrin - Adrenaline
Marc Digovanni - Jagermeister/Force 5

Dave Leach - Middlebury
CJ Bickmore - Olympic Club
Jared McNichol - Hulu

Faceoff Midfielder
Jay Motta - Hulu

Long Stick Midfielder
Michael Gianella - Jagermeister/Force 5

Derek Laub Power-Tek
Rick Blocker - Buddha's Ballers
Jed Raymond - Middlebury

Anthony Katagas Jagermeister/Force 5

US Lacrosse Keeper of Lacrosse Award
Steven Bridges Vail Lacrosse Shootout Staff Member

* * * *

Men's Elite

Championship Semifinal: All Out 15, Brine Elite 13
All Out dominated the first half, but Brine went on a fourth quarter run with two big two pointers. The goals, however, just weren't enough to steal the win. All Out's Billy Ward led the way to victory with three goals and three assists.

Championship Semifinal: Lacrossewear 16, Big Green Herd 15 (OT)
In one of the best semifinals in tournament history, Lacrossewear came from behind in the second half and advances to the championship game. With Lacrossewear up one at halftime, BGH came out strong stringing together four goals in under five minutes and took a 12-11 lead going into the fourth quarter. After trading goals, Lacrossewear tied the game with three minutes left to send the game to overtime. Vail Lacrosse Shout rules dictate that overtime be played for the complete duration (non-sudden death), with the extended overtime each team tallied a goal in the first minute. After stopping BGH's final offensive push, Lacrossewear was left with 1:00 left to win the game. Lacrossewear got an excellent opportunity to score but BGH stood their ground and forced a Lacrossewear turnover. While attempting to clear the ball BGH lost the ball directly in front of the BGH goal leaving the net wide open for an easy score and a Lacrossewear victory.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website