Six Finalists Announced for the NLL Hall of Fame 2013 Ballot

Regy Thorpe
Regy Thorpe played 15 seasons in the league from 1995-2009, all with the Rochester Knighthawks. The defenseman recorded 76 points (5+71) and 966 loose balls in 193 career regular season games. He reached the Championship Game six times, winning twice (1997, 2007) while making the playoffs in 14 of his 15 seasons with 14 points (0+14) and 102 loose balls in 24 career playoff games. Thorpe served as team captain during Rochester's 2007 championship season.

The 1993 Buffalo Bandits
The 1993 Buffalo Bandits were the first team to be nominated for the NLL Hall of Fame. The '93 Bandits are the first and only team in league history to go through the regular season and playoffs undefeated. The Bandits went 8-0 in the regular season, outscoring their opponents 143-108. The team went 2-0 in the playoffs, including a 13-12 Championship Game win over a Philadelphia Wings team that came into the Championship with a season record of 8-1.

The 1993 team's roster and staff included five future NLL Hall of Famers and individuals who continue to have an impact on the NLL to this day. The team was coached by the late Les Bartley, who won his second of seven championships as a head coach that season. Bartley was inducted posthumously into the NLL Hall of Fame as part of the Hall's Inaugural Class in 2006.

Three of the team's players are now in the Hall of Fame: Darris Kilgour, Rich Kilgour and Jim Veltman. John Tavares, the league's all-time leading scorer, was on the '93 Bandits team and was MVP of the Championship Game. One-third (three out of nine) of the league's current head coaches were part of the '93 Bandits team as Troy Cordingley, Bob Hamley, and Derek Keenan all played on the team. NLL Hall of Fame member and current Wings general manager Johnny Mouradian was the team's GM.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website