Florida Gators Release Lacrosse Schedule for the 2014 Season

Gainesville, Fla. The University of Florida lacrosse team and head coach Amanda O'Leary announced its 2014 season schedule, which features 17 regular season contests, including nine at Donald R. Dizney Stadium, where the Gators went undefeated in 2013.

Florida kicks off the season at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill for the fourth straight year on Feb. 8. The defending national champion Tar Heels own a 1-3 lead in the series, but the Gators won the last match-up, 5-3.

The Gators return to Dizney Stadium for a four-game home stand during which they will face Jacksonville (Feb. 12), High Point (Feb. 15), James Madison (Feb. 20) and Cincinnati (Feb. 23). Florida will hit the road again to take on Stony Brook on March 1 and Loyola (Md.) on March 4.

The Gators will take on their first American Lacrosse Conference opponent on March 8 at Dizney Stadium when they host Michigan. This will be Michigan's inaugural ALC game, as the program is starting its first year of competition in 2014. Florida will remain at home to play Winthrop on March 12.

On March 15, UF will travel to New York to face rival Syracuse in what has become a highly anticipated match-up each year. The Orange holds a slim 2-3 advantage in the series, and the teams split last year's match-ups with Florida and Syracuse each winning a game.

UF will host Dartmouth on March 18 at Dizney Stadium before traveling to Ohio State (March 22) and Stetson (March 26). Florida will wrap up the regular season with four ALC games, starting with Penn State at home (March 30) and traveling to Johns Hopkins (April 5). The Gators will return home on April 13, when they will face Vanderbilt, before closing out the regular season at Northwestern on April 19.

The 2014 ALC Tournament will be hosted by Northwestern from May 1-4 in Evanston, Ill. The NCAA Tournament will begin on May 9 and conclude in Towson, Md., with the semifinals and championship games on May 23 and 25, respectively.

Date          Opponent          Site              Time (ET)
Sat, Feb 8 North Carolina Chapel Hill, NC 12:00 pm
Wed, Feb 12 Jacksonville Gainesville, FL 6:30 pm
Sat, Feb 15 High Point Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm
Thu, Feb 20 James Madison Gainesville, FL 6:30 pm
Sun, Feb 23 Cincinnati Gainesville, FL 12:00 pm

Sat, Mar 1 Stony Brook Stony Brook, NY TBA
Tue, Mar 4 Loyola Baltimore, MD 1:00 pm
Sat, Mar 8 Michigan * Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm
Wed, Mar 12 Winthrop Gainesville, FL 6:30 pm
Sat, Mar 15 Syracuse Syracuse, NY TBA
Tue, Mar 18 Dartmouth Gainesville, FL TBA
Sat, Mar 22 Ohio State * Columbus, OH TBA
Wed, Mar 26 Stetson DeLand, FL TBA
Sun, Mar 30 Penn State * Gainesville, FL 12:00 pm

Sat, Apr 5 Johns Hopkins * Baltimore, MD 1:00 pm
Sun, Apr 13 Vanderbilt * Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm
Sat, Apr 19 Northwestern * Evanston, IL TBA

2013-09-13



Create a free lacrosse website