Manhattan Unveils Lacrosse Schedule for the 2014 Season

RIVERDALE, N.Y. Manhattan released its 2014 schedule today, as announced by first-year head coach Elizabeth Weber. A 17-game slate, which features two NCAA tournament teams from a year ago, also has eight home contests on the docket.

"I am very excited for what this season has in store for us," said Weber. "We are preparing for a challenging in and out of conference schedule. Both the team and our staff is looking forward to the start of 2014."

The schedule opens with three consecutive games at Gaelic Park, beginning when Rutgers visits on Feb.15. Manhattan will also welcome in Albany (Feb. 26) and Bryant (March 1) before hitting the road for the first time at metro-area rival Wagner (March 5). Following a home contest with St. Joseph's on March 8, the Jaspers will embark on a four game road swing.

Manhattan will visit Delaware State on March 15 before traveling to Connecticut for a date with Sacred Heart (March 19). After traveling to LIU Brooklyn on March 25, the team will open Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) play on March 29 when they make their second trip to the Nutmeg State to face Quinnipiac.

Siena (April 2), Fairfield (April 5) and Monmouth (April 9) will all visit Gaelic Park in league play as part of another three game homestand. The Hawks reached the NCAA Tournament last season as winners of the Northeast Conference, their fifth in school history.

The Jaspers play four of their final five contests away from Riverdale first traveling to defending MAAC Champion Canisius (April 12) before visiting Marist (April 16). Their final home game of the year will be played on April 19 when they host Niagara. Manhattan concludes conference play on April 23 as they visit Iona before stepping out of conference to end the season on April 26 at area rival Columbia.

The 2014 MAAC Women's Lacrosse Championship will be held May 2-4 at the Demske Sports Complex on the campus of Canisius College. The top four teams in the conference will qualify with the winner earning a berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Date                 Opponent             Location              Time
Sat., Feb. 15 Rutgers Riverdale, N.Y. 1:00 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 26 Albany Riverdale, N.Y. 3:00 p.m.

Sat., March 1 Bryant Riverdale, N.Y. 5:00 p.m.
Wed., March 5 Wagner Staten Island, N.Y. TBA
Sat., March 8 St. Joseph's Riverdale, N.Y. 1:00 p.m.
Sat., March 15 Delaware State Dover, Del. TBA
Wed., March 19 Sacred Heart Fairfield, Conn. 3:00 p.m.
Tue., March 25 LIU Brooklyn Brooklyn, N.Y. TBA
Sat., March 29 Quinnipiac* Hamden, Conn. TBA

Wed., April 2 Siena* Riverdale, N.Y. 3:00 p.m.
Sat., April 5 Fairfield* Riverdale, N.Y. 7:00 p.m.
Wed., April 9 Monmouth* Riverdale, N.Y. 8:00 p.m.
Sat., April 12 Canisius* Buffalo, N.Y. TBA
Wed., April 16 Marist* Poughkeepsie, N.Y. TBA
Sat., April 19 Niagara* Riverdale, N.Y. 5:00 p.m.
Wed., April 23 Iona* New Rochelle, N.Y. TBA
Sat., April 26 Columbia New York, N.Y. TBA

Fri.-Sun., May 2-4 MAAC Championships Buffalo, N.Y. TBA

2013-10-11



Create a free lacrosse website