CUFLA Announces Its All-Canadian Players for 2013 Season

The McGill Redmen were rewarded for their perfect 10-0 season with nine selections on the Canadian University Field Lacrosse Association's 2013 All Canadian team. Bishop's filled four of the remaining five slots on the East Division squad, with Carleton midfielder Jay Gallant the lone representative from outside of the pair of Quebec teams. Guelph led the way in the West Division with six All Canadians while the first-place Brock Badgers placed four on the West team. University of Western Ontario and University of Toronto each have two All Canadians.

Bishop's, which finished second it the East, rounded out its four East selections with six of the 10 honourable mention recipients in the division. Queen's had two honourable mentions, McGill and Trent one each. Brock led the West honourable-mention parade with five. Guelph and Western had two each and U of T one.

Brock's Kyle Davis led the West Division and all of CUFLA in scoring with 34 goals and 28 assists for 62 points in 12 games. Alex Henderson topped the East and led all CUFLA players in points per game. Henderson scored 22 goals and added 30 assists for 52 points, an average of 5.2 per game.

McGill and Brock earned byes to the semifinals of the CUFLA championship tournament, the Baggataway Cup, this Saturday at Molson Stadium in Montreal. Bishop's will be playing Guelph and Western takes on Queen's in the quarterfinals Friday to determine their opponents. All games can be seen in live webcasts with play-by-play announcer Stephen Stamp from Inside Lacrosse, via Streaming Sports Network. The web site to see the games is

CUFLA 2013 All Canadians

East Division

Attack: Alex Henderson (Bishop's), Alex Rohrbach (McGill), Kevin Donovan (McGill)

Midfield: Connor Goodwin (McGill), Jay Gallant (Carleton), Andre Laleune (Bishop's)

Faceoff specialist: Brandon McLean (McGill)

Defensive midfield: Ossie Long (McGill)

Long stick midfield: Quinton Bradley (McGill)

Defense: Hayden Nix (McGill), Paul Rakoczy (McGill), Nicholas Brands (Bishop's)

Goalkeepr: Riley McGillis (McGill)

West Division

Attack: Jordan Critch (Guelph), Ryan Serville (Guelph), Brandon Slade (Brock)

Midfield: Michael Buwalda (UoT), Connor Deuchars (Guelph), Curtis Knight (Guelph)

Faceoff specialist: Ben Van Galen (Guelph)

Defensive midfield: Mark Debrone (Brock)

Long stick midfield: Ben Van Galen (Guelph)

Defense: Eric Pitre (Western), Justin Pychel (Brock), Corey Wright (UoT)

Goalkeepr: Zach Grace (Western)


Create a free lacrosse website