UNH's Katey Stone '89 Receives NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

Katey Stone, a 1989 graduate of the University of New Hampshire women's hockey and lacrosse teams, is one of six nationally to earn the NCAA's 2014 Silver Anniversary Award. The NCAA announced the six honorees Wednesday morning.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their college athletics careers. The Honors Committee, comprised of representatives of NCAA member schools and nationally prominent former student-athletes, selects each year's recipients.

The 2014 recipients are Troy Aikman, Rodney Peete, Earl Martin Phalen, George Pyne, Katey Stone and Dara Torres. The NCAA will recognize the honorees at the Honors Celebration during the 2014 NCAA Convention in San Diego, Calif.

Stone was a four-year letter winner in both lacrosse and ice hockey at the University of New Hampshire. She was a member of the 1985 national championship team in lacrosse, a two-time All-American, and team captain in 1989. In ice hockey, Stone captained her team in 1989, and her team won the Eastern College Athletic Conference Championship in 1986 and 1987. Stone went on to coach Harvard University's women's ice hockey team and is the winningest coach in the history of Division I women's ice hockey.

Her resume includes nine NCAA tournament appearances, including five Frozen Four appearances. Stone is now the head coach of the U.S. Olympic women's ice hockey team, and she will be taking the team to the 2014 Sochi Olympics, making her the first woman to lead the U.S. national team into Olympic competition. Stone led the U.S. national team to a gold medal at the Four Nations Cup and a silver medal at the International Ice Hockey Women's World Championships in 2009. She was named the United States College Hockey Online Coach of the Year in 2004-05 and is president of the American Women's Hockey Coaches Association.

Stone will join fellow UNH alum Cameron Lyle (Plaistow, N.H.) in being honored at the annual NCAA Honors Celebration on January 17, 2014 in San Diego, Calif. Lyle was the 2014 winner of the NCAA's Award of Valor.


Create a free lacrosse website