Canisius 2014 Lacrosse Schedule Features 10 Home Contests

Ten home games and contests with two members of last year's national semifinals highlight the 2014 women's lacrosse schedule, Canisius head coach Scott Teeter announced on Tuesday.

"We have put together a very challenging non-conference schedule to help prepare us to defend our MAAC Championship," Teeter said. "It is exciting for us to open up with a pair of trips to teams who were in the national semifinals last season. We also bring in a number of very good opponents to Buffalo as well. We have our goal set on a fourth-straight MAAC Championship and we feel the teams on our schedule this season will help prepare us for that."

The Griffs will square off with four members of last year's NCAA Tournament field, opening with trips to Syracuse (Feb. 16) and defending National Champion North Carolina (Feb. 19). Canisius will also host Boston College (March 15) and defending NEC Champion and new MAAC rival Monmouth (April 18).

Following the Griffs' opening road trips, they will host five-consecutive home contests Colgate (Feb. 25), Ohio State (March 1), Louisville (March 12), Boston College and Binghamton (March 17).

Canisius wraps up its non-conference schedule with games at Duquesne (March 19) and home against Robert Morris on March 24.

The Griffs begin their defense of their MAAC Championships on April 2 at home against Marist. The Griffs will then square off in a pair of road games, first with Quinnipiac for the first time as a conference foe on April 6, and against Siena on April 9.

The team then returns home for three of its final four MAAC contests Manhattan (April 12), Monmouth, and Fairfield (April 26) with the last road game coming against longtime rival Niagara on April 23.

Canisius will also play host to the 2014 MAAC Championship, with the top-four teams qualifying to participate.

Date          Opponent         Location                Time (ET)
Sun, Feb 16 Syracuse Syracuse, N.Y. 1:00 PM
Wed, Feb 19 North Carolina Chapel Hill, N.C. 4:00 PM
Tue, Feb 25 Colgate Demske Sports Complex 4:00 PM

Sat, Mar 01 Ohio State Demske Sports Complex 1:00 PM
Wed, Mar 12 Louisville Demske Sports Complex TBA
Sat, Mar 15 Boston College Demske Sports Complex 12:00 PM
Mon, Mar 17 Binghamton Demske Sports Complex 1:00 PM
Wed, Mar 19 Duquesne Pittsburgh, Pa. 4:00 PM
Mon, Mar 24 Robert Morris Demske Sports Complex 4:00 PM
Sat, Mar 29 Iona * New Rochelle, N.Y. 1:00 PM

Wed, Apr 02 Marist * Demske Sports Complex 4:00 PM
Sun, Apr 06 Quinnipiac * Hamden, Conn. 12:00 PM
Wed, Apr 09 Siena * Loudonville, N.Y. 3:00 PM
Sat, Apr 12 Manhattan * Demske Sports Complex 11:00 AM
Fri, Apr 18 Monmouth * Demske Sports Complex 4:00 PM
Wed, Apr 23 Niagara * Lewiston, N.Y. 7:00 PM
Sat, Apr 26 Fairfield * Demske Sports Complex 12:00 PM

Fri, May 02 MAAC Semifinal Demske Sports Complex
Sun, May 04 MAAC Final Demske Sports Complex

2013-12-03



Create a free lacrosse website