Delaware Lacrosse Unveils Challenging Slate for 2014 Season

NEWARK, Del. - University of Delaware women's lacrosse head coach Kateri Linville announced today the team's 2014 schedule, which features five NCAA Tournament squads, three ranked opponents, and nine home dates.

"Our goal, as a program, is to return Delaware women's lacrosse to national prominence," remarked Linville, who is in her fourth season at the helm of the Blue Hens. "We want to create a winning tradition that attracts talent and brings a sense of pride to our players, alumni and the University as a whole. We believe that to be the best, you have to play and beat the best and with that we are excited to take on five NCAA Tournament teams and three nationally ranked opponents. We know that there are two roads to the tournament one through our conference championship and one through our non-conference wins. We cannot wait to kick off our 2014 season this coming February."

The Blue Hens face their first competition the weekend of February first as the team travels to south for exhibition matches against nationally-ranked Duke and defending national champion North Carolina.

Delaware then opens regular season play on Saturday, Feb. 15 against Georgetown in Washington, D.C. The Hoyas finished the 2013 campaign with a No. 8 ranking and a trip to the NCAA Tournament.

The 2014 home opener will be Wednesday, Feb. 19 at Delaware Stadium as the Blue Hens host Lafayette, a team that went 9-9 overall and 3-3 in league play to advance to the Patriot League Tournament.

UD hits the road for the next two weekends as the Hens take on Ivy League champion, NCAA Tournament participant, and No. 17 Penn in Philadelphia on Feb. 22 before playing at Rutgers on March 1.

The Blue Hens then return home for a three-game stand over the next week against La Salle (March 5), Villanova (March 8), and Virginia Tech (March 12).

Next up for Delaware will be a quick trip to Temple on March 15 before facing another NCAA Tournament team in Monmouth at Delaware Stadium on March 19. The Hawks won the NEC en route to post-season play last year.

On March 22, the Blue Hens travel to first-time opponent George Washington.

Colonial Athletic Association play begins on March 30 for UD as the Blue Hens take on defending CAA-champion and NCAA Tournament participant Towson at the Tigers' Johnny Unitas Stadium.

The Hens then bring CAA action to Delaware Stadium as they host Drexel on April 4 before traveling to Hofstra on April 6.

Delaware closes out the final three regular season contests at home with match-ups against James Madison (April 11), William & Mary (April 13), and No. 11 Stony Brook (April 22). The Seawolves, a first-time opponent for the Blue Hens, are coming off of a historic season after capturing the most wins in program history (17) en route to its first America East championship and first-ever NCAA Tournament win.

The 2014 CAA Championships will be held May 2-4, with the College of William & Mary serving as host.

Saturday, February 15 at Georgetown
Wednesday, February 19 vs. Lafayette
Saturday, February 22 at Penn
Saturday, March 1 at Rutgers
Wednesday, March 5 vs. La Salle
Saturday, March 8 vs. Villanova
Wednesday, March 12 vs. Virginia Tech
Saturday, March 15 at Temple
Wednesday, March 19 vs. Monmouth
Saturday, March 22 at George Washington
Sunday, March 30 at Towson*
Friday, April 4 vs. Drexel*
Sunday, April 6 at Hofstra*
Friday, April 11 vs. James Madison*
Sunday, April 13 vs. William & Mary*
Tuesday, April 22 vs. Stony Brook
Friday, May 2 CAA Semifinals (at William & Mary)
Sunday, May 4 CAA Finals (at William & Mary)

2013-12-10



Create a free lacrosse website