Atlantic Sun Lacrosse Preseason Poll and All-Conference Team

MACON, Ga. The second season of Atlantic Sun women's lacrosse is set to begin, and Jacksonville came away a clear favorite in the preseason coaches poll with six first-place votes after collecting the 2013 A-Sun Regular Season and Championship crown.

The Dolphins' Taylor McCord was selected as the A-Sun Preseason Player of the Year, while teammate Kaylee Quint garnered Preseason Defensive Player of the Year Honors.

McCord spearheaded JU's high-powered offense last season with 32 goals and a league-leading 28 assists, while Quint started in all 19 of the Dolphins games and recorded 30 ground balls and ten draw controls. Quint earned unanimous votes to the A-Sun Preseason All-Conference Team.

McCord and Quint are joined by teammates Morgan Derner, Ali Hoffman, Brit Orashen and Chelsea Watts on the A-Sun Preseason All-Conference Team. Jacksonville's landed the most players on the preseason team with six, three of which are attackers. Orashen tallied 40 points last season in the midfield for the Dolphins, while adding 47 ground balls and 46 caused turnovers.

Detroit came in second in the coaches poll with 28 points. The Titans boast three student-athletes on the all-conference team with attacker Erin Campbell, defender Amanda Guthrie and goalkeeper Lexie McCormick making the squad. McCormick finished the 2013 season strong with top-ten national rankings in total saves (2nd; 175), saves per game (6th; 9.21) and ground balls per game (10th; 2.89).

Stetson enters the season in third place in the coaches poll with defender Amanda Parker earning all-conference accolades. Parker led the Hatters in ground balls with 28 and was second on the team in caused turnovers with 16 last season.

Kennesaw State was tabbed as fourth in the coaches poll with 14 points, while A-Sun newcomer Elon came in at No. 5 in its inaugural season with 13 points.

Howard completed the poll at No. 6 in the league with attacker Cynithia Smalls receiving unanimous votes on the all-conference selection, while teammate Jaymie Cox earned preseason all-conference honors as well. Smalls averaged 4.14 draw controls per game last season to lead the league.

For the second year in a row, the A-Sun asked the fans to vote for their choice on the Preseason Player and Defensive Player of the Year. Stetson's Maylis Broderick was voted by the fans as the Preseason Player of the Year, while teammate Caili Guilday received the fan voted Defensive Player of the Year.

2014 Preseason Lacrosse Coaches Poll
1. Jacksonville (6) 36
2. Detroit 28
3. Stetson 25
4. Kennesaw State 14
5. Elon 13
6. Howard 10

Preseason All-Conference Team
Pos.   Name              School         Cl.   Hometown
*A Cynithia Smalls Howard Sr. Far Rockaway, N.J.
*D Kaylee Quint Jacksonville Sr. Lake Mary, Fla.
A Erin Campbell Detroit Sr. Orangeville, Ont.
A Morgan Derner Jacksonville Jr. Lake Mary, Fla.
A Ali Hoffman Jacksonville Sr. Gambrills, Md.
A Taylor McCord Jacksonville Jr. Jacksonville, Fla.
M Jaymie Cox Howard Jr. North Babylon, N.Y.
M Brit Orashen Jacksonville Jr. Lebanon, N.J.
M Chelsea Watts Jacksonville Sr. West Long Branch, N.J.
D Amanda Guthrie Detroit Jr. Winter Springs, Fla.
D Amanda Parker Stetson So. Perkasie, Pa.
GK Lexie McCormick Detroit Jr. Peterborough, Ont.

* unanimous choice

Preseason Player of the Year: Taylor McCord, Jacksonville
Fan Voted Preseason Player of the Year: Maylis Broderick, Stetson
Preseason Defensive of the Year: Kaylee Quint, Jacksonville
Fan Voted Defensive Player of the Year: Caili Guilday, Stetson

Newcomer Watch List
Morgan Lear (Jr., Detroit) Defender
Annie Mendoza (Jr., Detroit) Attacker
Molly Garrigan (Fr., Elon) Midfielder
Sydney Hesselbein (Fr., Elon) Midfielder
Tianna Clark (Fr., Howard) Attacker
Taylor Spencer (Fr., Howard) Midfielder
Ali Brennan (Sr., Jacksonville) Midfielder
Danielle Della Rocca (Fr., Jacksonville) Attacker
Olivia Hokanson (Fr., Kennesaw State) Attacker
Taylor McGhee (Fr., Kennesaw State) Midfielder
Erin Busch (Fr., Stetson) Defender
Lindsay Summers (Fr., Stetson) Midfielder


Create a free lacrosse website