Virginia Tech Releases the Hokie 2014 Lacrosse Schedule

BLACKSBURG, Va. Virginia Tech has released its 2014 schedule. The squad will face both conference newcomers, Syracuse and Notre Dame, at home, as well as eight NCAA Tournament teams from a year ago. Tech returns six starters from last year's roster including top scorer Megan Will, and the ACC's draw controls leader Meg Bartley.

The Hokies will begin their season heading up to Harrisonburg, Va., on Saturday, Feb. 15 in search of their first win over James Madison. The Dukes claimed last year's meeting in Blacksburg with a game-deciding goal with less than two minutes to play.

Tech will follow the road contest opening play at Thompson Field on Wednesday, Feb. 19 at 4:00 p.m., hosting High Point, who made the post season in 2013 but was bounced in the first round. The Hokies continue play at home, hosting Elon on Sunday, Feb. 23 at noon.

The Hokies will briefly return to the road to take on Longwood on Wednesday, Feb. 26 before diving into league play the following weekend. Conference newcomer Notre Dame will roll into Blacksburg for a noon game on Sunday, March 2. Following the game against the Irish, Tech will have a week to prepare before hosting Duke on Sunday, March 9 at 1:00 p.m.

Tech will hit the road during spring break to take on Delaware for the first time in program history, and William & Mary before returning home to face Coastal Carolina on Saturday, March 22.

Jumping back into ACC play, the Hokies travel to North Carolina on Wednesday, March 26 for a 6:00 p.m. game at Fetzer Field. Remaining on the road, the squad will ship out to Norfolk, Va., for a game against Old Dominion on Saturday March 29.

The Hokies will face nearby Liberty at home the following Wednesday before Syracuse comes to town on Saturday March 5 for a 1:00 p.m. game. With the game against the Orange being the final weekend contest for the Hokies at home, it will also be the team's Senior Day.

Tech will make its first of two trips to Boston for a game against Boston College on Saturday March 12 at noon before returning home for its final home game of the year. The Hokies will host in-state rival Virginia under the lights on Wednesday, April 16. Wrapping up the regular season, Tech will head to Maryland for the Terps' last conference game as a member of the ACC. The finale will begin at noon on Saturday, April 19.

The Hokies will battle for their first post-season win as a member of the ACC as they head to Boston for the ACC Tournament. Boston College will host the tournament, which will run from Thursday, April 24 through Saturday April 26.

Day & Date     Opponent              Time     Location
Sat., Feb 15 at James Madison 1 p.m. Harrisonburg, Va.
Wed., Feb 19 High Point 4 p.m. Thompson Field
Sun., Feb 23 Elon Noon Thompson Field
Wed., Feb 26 at Longwood 4 p.m. Farmville, Va.

Sun., Mar 2 Notre Dame * Noon Thompson Field
Sun., Mar 9 Duke * 1 p.m. Thompson Field
Wed., Mar 12 at Delaware * 4 p.m. Newark, Del.
Sat., Mar 15 at William & Mary 1 p.m. Williamsburg, Va.
Sat., Mar 22 Coastal Carolina 1 p.m. Thompson Field
Wed., Mar 26 at North Carolina * 6 p.m. Chapel Hill, N.C.
Sat., Mar 29 at Old Dominion 1 p.m. Norfolk, Va.

Wed., Apr 2 Liberty 4 p.m. Thompson Field
Sat., Apr 5 Syracuse * 1 p.m. Thompson Field
Sat., Apr 12 at Boston College * Noon Chestnut Hill, Mass.
Wed., Apr 16 Virginia * 6 p.m. Thompson Field
Sat., Apr 19 at Maryland * Noon College Park, Md.

Thu., Apr 24 ACC Tournament TBA Boston, Mass.
Fri., Apr 25 ACC Tournament TBA Boston, Mass.
Sat., Apr 26 ACC Tournament TBA Boston, Mass.

2014-01-23



Create a free lacrosse website