Queens, Mars Hill Top SAC Lacrosse Preseason Coaches' Poll

Catawba is third in the poll, followed by No. 4 Lenoir-Rhyne - which received the final first-place vote. Catawba won the last three tournament championships in the Deep South Conference, which included SAC members Lenoir-Rhyne and Wingate. Mars Hill was a member until 2013.

Also revealed on Wednesday was the preseason All-SAC Team. Twelve student-athletes were named to the First Team, including Catawba's John Scheich, Mars Hill's Jimmy McBride and Coker's Ryan Maurer at attacker.

That trio is joined by Mars Hill's Anthony Malcolm, Lenoir-Rhyne's Tyler Kotch and L-R's Sam Ashton at midfielder, and Queens' Patrick Murphy, Catawba's Gage Mason and Lenoir-Rhyne's Stephen O'Hara at defender.

Mars Hill's Tanner Leach is the first-team's long-pole midfielder, Catawba's Daniel Rew is the team's specialist, and Mars Hill's Patrick McMahon is its goalkeeper.
Scheich set Catawba records last season for goals in a season with 52, which led the DSC and stood fifth in NCAA II. He also produced a record nine-goal game against Wingate. Mason has started 30 games for the Indians over the past two years. In 2013, he totaled 21 ground balls with a dozen caused turnovers. Rew ranked 12th in the nation with his 57% winning percentage in face-offs. He collected 93 ground balls and scored 10 goals.

Catawba opens its season on Feb. 15 at Mount Olive and will play its first home contest on Feb. 23 against Tampa. The inaugural Food Lion SAC Lacrosse Championship will be hosted by Queens from April 17-19 in Charlotte, NC.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website