ALC Announces Preseason Lacrosse Poll and Players to Watch

The Northwestern Wildcats, the reigning ALC Tournament champions, were tabbed by the league's coaches to finish atop the league in 2014, picking up six of the seven first-place votes. Penn State picked up the other first-place vote and was picked to finish second in the conference, followed by 2013 co-regular season champion Florida. Michigan, in their first year of varsity competition, joins the league on the field and will compete in the ALC Tournament.

Five of the league's teams were recognized in the national preseason polls, with Northwestern, Penn State and Florida all sitting in the top-10 and Johns Hopkins coming in at No. 20 in the Brine/Inside Lacrosse poll while Ohio State received votes in both that and the IWLCA coaches' poll.

In addition, the coaches named 12 players to watch throughout the season. Penn State and Ohio State led all schools with three players named to the team, while Florida and Johns Hopkins both had two players recognized. Northwestern and Vanderbilt each had one player so honored.

2014 ALC Preseason Poll
1. Northwestern 47 (6)
2. Penn State 41 (1)
3. Florida 33
4. Johns Hopkins 29
5. Ohio State 24
6. Vanderbilt 15
7. Michigan 7

2014 ALC Players to Watch, Preseason
Nora Barry, Florida
Katie Chase, Ohio State
Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State
Tatum Coffey, Penn State
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins
Dené DiMartino, Johns Hopkins
Shannon Gilroy, Florida
Tayler Kuzma, Ohio State
Kelly Lechner, Penn State
Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern
Maggie McCormick, Penn State
Abby Wheeler, Vanderbilt


Create a free lacrosse website