Northeast-10 Conference Lacrosse Preseason Coaches' Poll

South Easton, Mass. Le Moyne, the defending Northeast-10 Conference champion, has been picked second in the Northeast-10 Conference Lacrosse Coaches' Preseason Poll, as voted upon by the 13 head coaches and announced by the conference office.

The Dolphins, who claimed their first Northeast-10 Conference championship last season as the top seed after earning a share of the regular season title, was selected first on four of the 13 ballots and earned 134 total points to place second in the voting.

Adelphi (18-3, 11-1 NE-10), which lost to the Dolphins in the regular season and the conference championship game but rallied to top the Dolphins in the first round of the NCAA championships, earned the top spot in the poll with seven first-place votes and 137 total points.

New Haven (12-7, 9-3 NE-10) and Stonehill (13-7, 10-2 NE-10), which both advanced to the NE-10 semifinals last May, were separated by one point in landing in third and fourth place, respectively. The Chargers, who picked up one first-place vote, tallied 115 points, while the Skyhawks collected 114. Saint Anselm (10-7, 7-5 NE-10) received the final first-place vote and 97 points to land in fifth place.

Bentley (11-7, 9-3 NE-10), the only conference opponent to defeat the Dolphins in the regular season last year, picked up 91 points to round out the teams expected to qualify for the NE-10 Championships.

Southern New Hampshire (7-10, 6-6 NE-10) tallied 73 points to place seventh, while Merrimack (66) (5-11, 4-8 NE-10) and Assumption (65) (9-8, 5-7 NE-10) finished eighth and ninth in the poll. Franklin Pierce (3-12, 2-10 NE-10) was picked 10th for the third consecutive season with 49 points, while Saint Michael's (5-10, 3-9 NE-10) placed 11th with 35 points.

American International (1-15, 0-12 NE-10) and Southern Connecticut State (3-13, 1-11 NE-10) each recorded 19 points to tie for 12th place.

1. Adelphi (7) 137
2. Le Moyne (4) 134
3. New Haven (1) 115
4. Stonehill 114
5. Saint Anselm (1) 97
6. Bentley 91
7. So. New Hampshire 73
8. Merrimack 66
9. Assumption 65
10. Franklin Pierce 49
11. Saint Michael's 35
12t. American Int'l 19
12t. So. Connecticut 19

Le Moyne opens the 2014 campaign on Wednesday, February 26 at Roberts Wesleyan at 4:00 p.m. The Dolphins open their home and Northeast-10 Conference slate on Saturday, March 1. The six-team conference championship begins on Wednesday, April 30 with first round action. The semifinals and finals, which will be hosted by the regular season champion, will take place on Saturday, May 3 and Sunday, May 4.


Create a free lacrosse website