Centre Lacrosse 2014 Season Preview

The 2014 Centre men's lacrosse team looks to build on its 2013 season that saw the team make the NCAA Tournament for the first time.

2014 Team
The 2014 senior class is the first class in school history that the men's lacrosse team will graduate and it has fifteen members in it. These seniors have helped grow the program into what it has become today, so they are poised and working hard to make it a great year. Last season the men's lacrosse team qualified for the NCAA Tournament and they were regular season co-conference champions in the third year of having varsity lacrosse. There were eleven members of the 2013 squad who received All-SAA Honors, including seniors Zack Connors (Louisville, Ky.) and Jay Reed (Louisville, Ky.) who were named First Team All-SAA.

Coaching Staff
Coach Bert Severns starts his fourth season at Centre with a 60% win percentage in his time as head coach. The previous two seasons the offense has ranked in the top ten of Division III for scoring offenses. Coach Reed Peterson enters his fourth season as assistant coach and will oversee the defense and goalies this season.

The trio of Zack Connors and seniors Connor Stubbs (Decatur, Ga.) and Peter Murphy (Louisville, Ky.) enter the season with two previous years playing as a line. This line as accounted for 403 points in the two previous years. In 2012 they were all named First Team All-SCAC. Zack Connors was named 2013 First Team All-SAA, Peter Murphy named to 2013 Second Team All-SAA and Connor Stubbs was 2013 All-SAA Honorable Mention. Some new faces have pushed these three, as freshmen Austin Zehnder (Prospect, Ky.), Mitchell Kraus (Louisville, Ky.) and Sumner Franklin (Louisville, Ky.) could see some minutes.

The midfield this year will have the depth of four recruiting classes. Junior Wesley Hardman (Narragansett, R.I.) and sophomore Matt Hughes (Vero Beach, Fla.) will hold the top two spots but the rest of the spots are up for grabs. Seniors Justin Norris (Deep River, Conn.), Corey Krill (Louisville, Ky.) and Patrick Evans (Louisville, Ky.) have played very well during the fall and preseason. There are seven midfielders in the underclassmen ranks that will round out the other three midfield lines. Defensive midfielders will be led by seniors Harry Meisner (Cincinnati, Ohio) and Neil Borgman (Louisville, Ky.) with senior Patrick Vaughn (Signal Mountain, Tenn.) expanding his role as a defensive midfielder. Junior Eamon Delay (Hempstead, N.Y.) should see some minutes as well.

The defense this season will also be led by a group of seniors, including Jay Reed (two-time All-Conference), James Bennett (Alpharetta, Ga., All-Conference in 2013), William Elpers (Louisville, Ky.) and Prescott Wing (Foxboro, Mass.). They have all played hard in the pre-season getting ready for their final season. Juniors Gilbert Richards (Cincinnati, Ohio) and Tyler Farquhar (Lexington, Ky.) have pushed the seniors and should see significant playing time as well. The long stick midfielder position has been a wide open battle all year with four members fighting for that spot. Sophomores Phil Havira (Louisville, Ky.) and Clay Krill (Louisville, Ky.) along with freshmen Jake Marfise (Tampa, Fla.) and Mason Paas (Louisville, Ky.) are in a competition for the top spot that will shake out as the season starts.

This season starts with junior Bryce McCoy (Hudson, Ohio) starting in cage this season after stepping in for injured senior Clayton Brown (Louisville, Ky.). McCoy had 127 saves and 11 wins last season in his first season as a starter. Brown has worked hard and will push McCoy for time. Newcomers Andrew Ferrucci (Essex, Conn.) and Tom Whalen (Massapequa, N.Y.) have shown some ability as well.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website