2014 All-Patriot League Team and Major Awards Announced

LaBeau wins the Rookie of the Year award after also finishing as the only freshman on the first-team All-Patriot League squad. She was a key two-way player for the Mountain Hawks who totaled 28 goals, eight assists, 20 draw controls and 15 ground balls for the season. LaBeau ranked in the top 10 in Patriot League games with 17 goals, and had a flair for the dramatic by scoring the tying and winning goals in an overtime victory at Boston University on April 5 and the tying goal to send Lehigh's contest at Navy to overtime four days later. LaBeau is Lehigh's seventh Patriot League Rookie of the Year award winner, and first since Kelly Draper in 2009.

The first-team All-Patriot League squad features a veteran lineup of seven juniors and five seniors, as well as two sophomores and a freshman. The attack features all juniors, with Colgate's Megan Ark (48 G, 9 A), Navy's Loren Generi (44 G, 34 A, 100 DC) and Loyola's Hannah Schmitt (26 G, 8 A) joining Thomas. Paton and LaBeau are among six players in the midfield where they are joined by Boston University sophomore Jill Horka (18 G, 5 A), Holy Cross senior Sara Hennessey (26 G, 5 A), Lafayette senior Ana White (35 G, 15 A, 101 DC) and Loyola junior Taryn VanThof (25 G, 7 A, 96 DC). The defense includes Lesher along with Colgate junior Jenna Frost (29 GB, 29 CT), Boston University senior Christie Hart (25 GB, 13 CT) and Lehigh junior Lauren Willcox (18 GB, 16 CT). Lehigh senior Alexandra Fitzpatrick is the first-team goalkeeper after placing among the national leaders with a .512 save percentage.

The second-team All-Patriot League squad totals 17 players and includes seven seniors, five juniors, three sophomores and two freshmen. The attack features players from five different schools including Navy senior Aimee Gennaro (36 G, 9 A), Holy Cross sophomore Kate Martino (24 G, 9 A), Lehigh junior Carli Sukonik (31 G), Boston University junior Lindsay Weiner (16 G, 15 A) and Lafayette freshman Kirsten Wilhelmsen (36 A). The second-team midfield has six schools represented with Boston University senior Becca Church (20 G), Navy senior Jill Coughlin (33 G), Lehigh sophomore Kendall Garden (20 G, 11 A), Lafayette senior Laura Kleiber (48 G, 7 A), Bucknell senior Katelyn Miller (29 G, 12 A) and Holy Cross junior Laura Ryan (23 G, 10 A). The defense again includes players from five different schools with Holy Cross junior Sophia Agostinelli (25 CT), Lafayette senior Rachel Martin (25 GB), Loyola senior Katherine Reinhard (15 GB), Navy sophomore Lizzy Rullan (17 GB) and Bucknell freshman Lucia Smircich (28 GB), with Colgate junior Jennie Berglin (10.65 GAA, .421 SV PCT) as the goalkeeper.

White and Martin join the list of four-time All-Patriot League selections, with White earning a first-team honor for the third year in a row. Generi, Frost, Sukonik, Miller and Ryan were each recognized on the All-League Team for the third straight season.

The 2014 Patriot League Women's Lacrosse Tournament begins with the quarterfinal round on Tuesday as No. 6 seed Lehigh visits No. 3 Boston University at 4:00 p.m. and No. 5 Colgate heads to No. 4 Holy Cross at 5:00 p.m. The tournament then moves to Loyola's Ridley Athletic Complex for the semifinals on Thursday and championship on Saturday. The host and top-seed Greyhounds will face the lower-seeded team from the quarterfinals in the first semi at 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, with No. 2 Navy facing the higher-seeded quarterfinal team at 7:30 p.m. The winners meet for the Patriot League Championship on Saturday at 1:00 p.m. The entire tournament is available with live streaming through Patriot League Network, with Campus Insiders producing the broadcast for the semifinals and championship.

Attack: Megan Ark, Colgate (Jr.); Loren Generi, Navy (Jr.); Hannah Schmitt, Loyola (Jr.); Annie Thomas, Loyola (Jr.)
Midfield: Sara Hennessey, Holy Cross (Sr.); Jill Horka, Boston University (So.); Allison LaBeau, Lehigh (Fr.); Marlee Paton, Loyola (Sr.); Taryn VanThof, Loyola (Jr.); Ana White, Lafayette (Sr.)
Defense: Jenna Frost, Colgate (Jr.); Christie Hart, Boston University (Sr.); Maddy Lesher, Loyola (So.); Lauren Willcox, Lehigh (Jr.)
Goalkeeper: Alexandra Fitzpatrick, Lehigh (Sr.)

Attack: Aimee Gennaro, Navy (Sr.); Kate Martino, Holy Cross (So.); Carli Sukonik, Lehigh (Jr.); Lindsay Weiner, Boston University (Jr.); Kirsten Wilhelmsen, Lafayette (Fr.)
Midfield: Becca Church, Boston University (Sr.); Jill Coughlin, Navy (Sr.); Kendall Garden, Lehigh (So.); Laura Kleiber, Lafayette (Sr.); Katelyn Miller, Bucknell (Sr.); Laura Ryan, Holy Cross (Jr.)
Defense: Sophia Agostinelli, Holy Cross (Jr.); Rachel Martin, Lafayette (Sr.); Katherine Reinhard, Loyola (Sr.); Lizzy Rullan, Navy (So.); Lucia Smircich, Bucknell (Fr.)
Goalkeeper: Jennie Berglin, Colgate (Jr.)

* Two extra players due to tie in the voting

Offensive Player of the Year: Annie Thomas, Loyola, Jr., A
Midfield Player of the Year: Marlee Paton, Loyola, Sr., M
Defensive Player of the Year: Maddy Lesher, Loyola, So., D
Rookie of the Year: Allison LaBeau, Lehigh, Fr., M
Coach of the Year: Jen Adams, Loyola

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website