#3 Adelphi Tops #8 Merrimack in Overtime for NE-10 Title

GARDEN CITY, N.Y. In an action-packed, back-and-forth affair that could not determine a winner after 60 minutes of play, top-seeded and third-ranked Adelphi scored 2:25 into overtime to lift the Panthers over the eighth-ranked Merrimack lacrosse team, 13-12, in the Northeast-10 Conference championship on Sunday afternoon at Motamed Field.

Playing in their third league title game in the last four years and aiming for their first NE-10 crown since the spring of 2010, the Warriors and Panthers went goal for goal from the second quarter on, as Merrimack rallied from an early four-goal deficit to draw even at 6-6 at the end of the first half.

Squared at six goals apiece, Merrimack and Adelphi traded goals in the third quarter before freshmen Tucker Schwarz (Tallahassee, Fla.) and Jack Trask (Colorado Springs, Colo.) tickled the twine back-to-back to send the Navy and Gold into the final intermission ahead by a 9-8 margin.

That would set the stage for an incredible final 15 minutes that featured seven combined goals, with the final two coming off the sticks of senior Paul Jones (Guilderland, N.Y.) and Trask at 3:44 and 2:55, respectively, as the Warriors rallied back to draw even at 12-12.

The final faceoff of regulation wound up in Merrimack's possession on a violation, allowing the Warriors to set up a chance to win the game after holding possession over essentially the last 2:30 of the fourth quarter. The Warriors had two glorious chances down the stretch but just missed, prompting the necessity of a winner-take-all overtime session.

Sophomore Scott Corcoran (Haverhill, Mass.) won the only faceoff in overtime to give the Warriors a chance to win the match. After a Merrimack timeout, Jones spun and fired a bullet on net that Adelphi goalkeeper Aidan Bennardo got a piece of before sophomore Tim Towler (Topsfield, Mass.) was stoned on a close-range shot to give the ball back to the Panthers.

Off an Adelphi timeout, NE-10 Player of the Year Salvatore Tuttle would win it with his game-leading fifth goal of the game, as the attackman scored with 2:35 left in overtime to lift the Panthers to their third title and first since 2011.


Create a free lacrosse website