Seahawks Advance by Mitchell to ECAC Title Game

MIDDLETOWN, R.I. - Nine players scored for Salve Regina (14-5) as the Seahawks defeated visiting Mitchell (8-8), 21-7, in semifinal action of the 2014 ECAC Division III New England Men's Lacrosse Championship at Gaudet Field.

Salve Regina will now host Becker in the ECAC Championship game on Friday, May 9, at 7:30 p.m.

The top-seeded Seahawks had defeated the Mariners, 14-7, just two weeks ago at home. Tonight's game featured two Seahawk seniors - Dan Parks (Nesconset, N.Y.) and Curtis McKeon (West Haven, Conn.) - providing an early 2-0 lead.

Shane Sullivan (Quaker Hill, Conn.) answered back with one for Mitchell at 11:31 in the first before McKeon and Alexander Gomes (Raynham, Mass.) kicked the lead up to 4-1. McKeon had his third goal of the game before the end of the first period and Alex King (Andover, Mass.) scored twice in the opening stanza.

McKeon finished his four-goal game by halftime as the Seahawks outscored the Mariners, 6-1, in the second period. Sharp Jones (Scituate, Mass.) and Cam Brazill (Ridgewood, N.J.) both had a pair of goals in the second 15 minutes.

Aaron Sladyk (South Windsor, Conn.) opened the third period scoring with his 12th goal of the season for Mitchell. King and Brazill countered to regain a double-digit lead for the Seahawks, 15-4.

Jones added unassisted goals in the third and fourth periods to match Brazill and McKeon for game-high goal scoring honors, four apiece. Brandon DiGiacomo (Bohemia, N.Y.) scored his third goal of the season with 3:27 left in the third period while sophomore midfielder Blake Dowe (Kennebunk, Maine) scored the first and second goals of his career in the final period.

Andrew Watkins (Natick, Mass.) made one save in three periods before Brian Farina (Jenkintown, Pa.) took care of the final 15 minutes with two saves for the Seahawks. JD LeMay (Lagrangeville, N.Y.) made more saves than goals allowed (22-21) for the Mariners.

The Salve Regina - Becker championship game will be the first meeting between the two schools in men's lacrosse.


Create a free lacrosse website