Men's, Women's 2014 Tewaaraton Finalists Announced

WASHINGTON, May 8 The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award men's and women's finalists, presented by Panama Jack. Five men and five women were selected as finalists and will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 14th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 29, 2014.

The five men's finalists are Loyola University defenseman Joe Fletcher, Princeton University midfielder Tom Schreiber, University at Albany attackman Lyle Thompson, University at Albany attackman Miles Thompson and Duke University attackman Jordan Wolf.

The five women's finalists are University of Maryland midfielder Taylor Cummings, University of Maryland defender Megan Douty, University of Florida midfielder Shannon Gilroy, Syracuse University attacker Alyssa Murray and Syracuse University attacker Kayla Treanor.

Returning finalists include Schreiber, Lyle Thompson and Murray. Lyle and Miles Thompson are the first sibling duo to be named Tewaaraton Award finalists. Nine of the 10 finalists will compete in this month's NCAA lacrosse championships, at the conclusion of which the selection committees will vote on and select this year's winners.

"This was a particularly competitive field of players this year. Its the ultimate recognition for these 10 finalists to have been chosen among many worthy candidates by the game's top coaches on the Tewaaraton selection committees," said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. "They are all worthy of the sport's ultimate award, and we look forward to hosting this group in Washington on May 29."

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. Finalists were selected from a pool of 28 men's and 27 women's nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 11 men's and 11 women's current and former college coaches.

Brief bios of the men's finalists:

Joe Fletcher, the 2014 Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year, leads all close defenders nationally in ground balls (76) and ground balls per game (4.75). His 28 caused turnovers also rank second on a Loyola squad that concluded the regular season atop the USILA Coaches Poll. The senior defenseman from Syracuse, N.Y., was named to the All-Patriot League First Team and the Patriot League All-Tournament Team. Earlier this year, Fletcher was the lone collegiate player selected to the U.S. Men's National Team 30-man roster for this summer's FIL World Championship.

A 2013 Tewaaraton Award finalist, midfielder Tom Schreiber paced Princeton in scoring for a fourth consecutive season, recording a team-high 30 goals and 51 points while finishing second with 21 assists. One of the most prolific midfielders in Ivy League history, the senior from East Meadow, N.Y., earned his fourth first-team All-Ivy League selection and set school records for career goals, assists and points by a midfielder. The number one overall pick in the 2014 MLL Collegiate Draft by the Ohio Machine, Schreiber is one of five players in Princeton history to reach 200 career points.

Jordan Wolf, the ACC Offensive Player of the Year, led the conference with 51 goals and 80 points, good for second and third nationally, respectively. A senior attackman from Wynnewood, Pa., Wolf extended his nation's best point scoring streak to 57 games and is second among active players with 281 career points. Wolf earned his fourth All-ACC selection, becoming the only Duke player to achieve that feat, and led the Blue Devils in scoring for a third consecutive season en route to his team earning the number one seed in the NCAA Tournament.

1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website