USL Announces 2014 Inductees for the Lacrosse Hall of Fame

BALTIMORE, May 21, 2014 - The 2014 induction class for the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame has been approved by the US Lacrosse Board of Directors. This year's eight-person class will be officially inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, October 25, at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

The members of the 2014 induction class are: Stan Cockerton, Jay Jalbert, Erin Brown Millon, Steve Mitchell, Michele Uhlfelder, Peter G. Voelkel, Carole Wakefield (posthumous) and Marge Watson.

Tickets for the 2014 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, sponsored by RPS Bollinger and the Markel Insurance Company, will be available to the public for purchase beginning August 1. Tickets will be sold online at

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. Nearly 400 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located with the Lacrosse Museum at US Lacrosse Headquarters in Baltimore.

Brief bios for this year's inductees follow, with more detailed career accomplishments listed further below.

Stan Cockerton
Cockerton will be inducted as a truly great player. He was a four-time All-American at North Carolina State University, earning first team honors in 1980, second team honors in 1978 and 1979, and third team honors as a freshman in 1977. He also received All-ACC honors in each of his four seasons, and was named to the ACC's 50th Anniversary Team in 2003. Cockerton still ranks third all-time in NCAA Division I history with 193 career goals, first all-time in goals per game with 4.39, and second all-time in points per game with 6.36. A native of Oshawa, Canada, Cockerton also participated as a club player for the Oshawa Blue Knights from 1979-95, and played for Team Canada in the FIL World Championship in 1978, 1982 and 1990. Cockerton had six goals and three assists in Canada's 17-16 victory over Team USA in the 1978 final, including the game-winning goal in overtime. He currently serves as president of the Federation of International Lacrosse.

Jay Jalbert
Jalbert will be inducted as a truly great player. He was a three-time All-American as an attacker and midfielder at the University of Virginia, earning first team honors in 1999 and 2000 and honorable mention status in 1998. Jalbert helped lead the Cavaliers to the 1999 NCAA title, and was named as the winner of the USILA's McLaughlin Award that season as the national midfielder of the year. He earned All-ACC honors in both 1999 and 2000, and was named to the ACC's 50th Anniversary Team in 2003. As a professional, Jalbert was a four-time all-star in Major League Lacrosse and three-time all-star in the National Lacrosse League. He also was named to the 2006 All-World Team and received the Best Midfielder Award as a member of Team USA.

Erin Brown Millon
Millon will be inducted as a truly great player. After beginning her collegiate career with two seasons at Essex (Md.) Community College, Millon transferred to the University of Maryland and became a second team All-American as a senior in 1990. She was named to the ACC's 50th Anniversary Team in 2002. Millon was a two-time member of the U.S. World Cup Team, helping Team USA to capture the world championship in both 1997 and 2001. She also served as an alternate on the 1993 team. Millon was the recipient of US Lacrosse's Beth Allen Award in 2001 as the most outstanding U.S. team player at the Women's National Tournament. She was also the first recipient of the IWLCA's President's Award in 2004.

1 2 3 4    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website